succesful end to a maul

Browner

Banned
Post Likes
It has always been the case that if the ball is dropped to the ground, the maul becomes a ruck. However the problem is if a player takes the ball to the ground, the mere fact that the ball may touch the ground should not be deemed to turn the maul into a ruck. That was my point - one I have been making since 1994 when they rescinded the turnover law for a ruck..

It is essential to interpret the phrase "the ball is on the ground" as referring to the ball alone when not in the grasp of the ball carrier.

Thanks for the clarification, we agree then, always did seemingly.

It was when you said
If the ball goes to ground in a maul and is not playable, as far as I am concerned it is an unsuccessful end to a maul.
without mentioning a dropped ball exception, that I took you to mean always/ for ANY reason, seems not.

Strange, because this whole thread has been about the incident where the ball was dropped, so I merely thought it was that incident we were talking about, least I was.

Although

RobLev

Rugby Expert
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
If ball carrier and ball go to ground the ball must be available immediately or it an unsuccessful end to a maul (TO Scrum).

If only the ball goes to ground the maul has now turned into a ruck.

If the ball does not come out of the ruck within a reasonable time then you could reasonably blow for unsuccessful end to a ruck(scrum to team going forward/attacking)

What I had in mind (for example) was a maul where there were already players on the ground, the ball drops amongst them and there's no way the ball is coming out; the ball is immediately unplayable, as it hits the ground, just as if it is taken to ground by the BC and becomes unplayable.

Taff

Referees in Wales
Post Likes