A danger to himself

Shelflife

Referees in Ireland
Post Likes
I reffed a game last week U16, coach told me that there was special needs player on the wing as they were short numbers. I asked did I need to know anything else and said no,his law knowledge was poor and that offside would be his failing. I said that i would manage that but they risked Pens if it became material.

Game starts and its clear that this lad hasnt a scooby doo about rugby, cant /wont tackle kick pass. No tactical awareness or positional sense.

At one stage the opp no 5 goes tearing down his wing and thankfully the winger steps out of his way to let him straight in.

If the opp No5 was a total meathead and liked running over people as is their want at that age, the winger could have been badly hurt as he wasnt prepared at all for contact.

i spoke to the coach afterwards and said that it was an accident waiting to happen and that if I was a coach I wouldnt play him but it was said more as an observation as a parent than a referee.

So the question is, have we a duty of care to that specific player and could /should we asked to have him removed from the pitch.

Taff

Referees in Wales
Post Likes
I have a vague memory of a Special Needs kid playing years ago and the Ref having a word with the opposition during the PMB that he did not want to see anyone targeting him.

crossref

Referees in England
Post Likes
I think this is tough. On the one hand you need to be sure players are safe, on the other hand (talking generally not about your particular example) if there has been a proper risk assessment with informed coaches, trainers and parents, and the player himself, then I don't think anyone would thank a referee coming in and making snap judgment.

(and shying away at tackling an oncoming total meathead is not exactly uncommon at U16s!)

didds

Resident Club Coach
Post Likes