[Law] Clarification 1 "021

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Post Likes
It’s clear to the extent that players can come on to the pitch when the referee says they can. The question is, for the sake of consistency and clarity for all, when exactly can the referee say they can? The law saying that players can only come onto the pitch with permission of the referee has been around for a long time. When a referee gives permission varies from one referee to the next and this is the crux of the issue/argument.

Dickie E

Referees in Australia
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
the player can come on when I say he can. Thanks, WR, for having trust in me to do my job properly.

Balones

Post Likes
the player can come on when I say he can. Thanks, WR, for having trust in me to do my job properly.

It’s not really a matter of trust. As a club coach I want you to say the same as the referee we had last week and the referee we will have next week. We can’t have you every week!:)

crossref

Referees in England
Post Likes

what is 'properly' ?

I posed a load of scenarios in #17, if two refs disagree about the answers, who is to say which one is doing it properly?

Balones

Post Likes
It’s not really a matter of trust. As a club coach I want you to say the same as the referee we had last week and the referee we will have next week. We can’t have you every week!:)

It occurs to me that this is the purpose behind clarifications surely? However this one is the exception it seems.

Balones

Post Likes