U’15s lineout …. In the spirit of the game or not ? ….. how to defend it ??

RUGBYBOOT

Referees in England
Post Likes
So, here’s a Sunday morning puzzler I’m having that I need help with. Despite trawling the web I still can’t find any real help with this one so here goes….

The U’15’s lineout.

Before I go on, I know lifting is NOT mandatory at this age but I also know that progression is vital, so for me as a coach, I coach lifting in all of our line outs. For me lifting is such an important aspect, so why would you not coach it whilst it’s an uncontested lift in the air. It helps young players to build confidence, understand how line outs can be a real attacking option and also lifting helps defensive progression and understanding of tactics, laws, safety etc.

So, over recent weeks we have come across teams who chose not to lift their jumpers and so when this happens I coach our players to do one of three things in addition to a hard solid defensive drive.

1. ‘Sack the ‘jumper’ 1-1 as soon as he receives the ball, before any maul is formed. I do not coach them to ‘judo throw’ - but I do coach them to spin the jumper round to our side and ruck hard over him.

2. Do not advance. So this way as soon as the attacking side move forward, providing they have moved the ball to the back of their ‘pre maul set-up’ and they engage with our pack they are offside. ( I accept we cannot move out of the lineout)

3….. and the one that referees and opposition dislike the most…… I send our hooker round to the back of their ‘pre maul’ and tackle the ball carrier. This produces the screams of ‘offside from touchline and sometimes the referee at this level’.

I’d really like some advice on this please, especially some confirmation on EXACTLY when I can send that hooker round the back, EXACTLY when the line out is over in this scenario and therefore the hooker can come round as in scenario 3.