another knock on Law question

BikingBud

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Six all. I’ll break the deadlock.:) I’m in the knock-on camp. If for no other reason than it stops issues over whether you can knock-it on over anyone’s head/arms and re-catch it etc, etc, etc, and so on. Interpret it as a knock-on and it stops many other debates. Plus I started playing and refereeing in the days when you were not permitted even a slight ‘juggle’ so I am biased and stuck in my ways!
What a bizarre response:
  • If for no other reason......
  • To stop other debates.......
  • Started refereeing in the days when.......
Nothing about the interpretation of current law.

Do you still award 3 points for a try?

BikingBud

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I never gave my reasoning

Possession: An individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it under control

I don't think she was attempting to bring the ball under control, so she wasn't in possession (and wasn't juggling)

She lost possession the moment the ball left her hands, and it went forwards

When this happens I don't think you can 'save' a KO by subsequently kicking or slapping the ball before it hits the ground .

So knock on

(I do accept it's not wholly clear cut so ymmv)
Whilst you are free to interpret what you observe, (the player attempting to bring the ball under control, or not) it does seem that you have Nigel's issue and are making things up (I don't think). Please can we stay within the Laws.

I would again offer as the ball went backwards then the level of control that the player wished to apply has been achieved. If it doesn't hit the ground or another player then it does meet the test case for a knock on. No mention about limitations on how you can prevent that occurring.

I have asked a couple of times; If the player had juggled, dived, caught, rolled and popped what then? Would that be acceptable?

crossref