Referees in Australia
- Jan 19, 2007
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Level 2
I think you need to edit one of these.
here it is with better audio. The critical error by the referee is that he calls "use it" which is universally recognised as the SH has 5 seconds to do his thing. To then pull this out of his bottom is appalling. If he wanted to indicate that Marler wasn't bound he should have called "use it". Zero star rating
Re the call itself, doesn't Marler's bind change to just hand/forearm after the call of "use it", when the player he's bound to moves forward?
Of course, but this game was reffed differently from other pro games. If you are going to do that you need to make it clear to both teams in advance (perhaps he did, and Quins didn't pay enough attention)I’ve got no problem with a player knowing and understanding the laws better than some other players.