AR's needed? How to progress

Taffy

Referees in England
Post Likes
I'm a relatively junior referee. Grade 11 currently. I would like to do more assistant referee work and have indicated so to the appointment secretary.

Is there anything else I Should be doing to gain experience and how far realistically could I go as a dedicated AR? (I refer to how far as a level and not as a match distance before some bright spark chips in!)

Dixie

Referees in England
Post Likes
Taffy, operating in Devon under the auspices of the RFU, I suspect that you will be limited by the need for the ARs to step up to the plate and referee the game in the event that the ref is crocked. While AR1 is primarily on the hook, AR2 steps up to AR1 if the original ref is crocked, so AR2 might conceivably have to ref the game. As the RFU will generally not appoint an official to a game more than two levels above his/her own grade, I suspect that is the limiting factor.

Given that Societies rarely appoint ARs to games during the majority of the season, I suspect that the main route into dedicated AR-ing is that L.7-ish referees switch to AR in the hope of progressing to the lower reaches of the National Panel. Others on here will have a far more authoritative view

Lee Lifeson-Peart

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
In Yorkshire we got asked for expressions of interest to become ARs. This was for referees at at least L8. The AR position is I assume to move towards NP appointed games.

We have 2 no(?) NPARs and 1 no Elite AR in our Society (although I think he may have moved to the cardy and slippers life of a TMO now).

The 2 NPARs referee occasionally midweek or Sundays and are commitee members of our Society. The Elite AR is the Chair of our Society and referees Sundays or Saturdays (lowish levels - for him) if he is working Friday Night.

Simon Thomas

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes