Aus v SA Koroibete Cover Tackle

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,537
Post Likes
1,822
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Above shoulder height is not classed as a high tackle "at that level" unless there is head or neck contact.

Cue conversation about two sets of laws again.
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,254
Post Likes
257
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Grounding was good, otherwise a penalty try could have been considered as a try saving tackle.
Irrelevant whether the grounding was good or not.....a penalty try could still be awarded.
 

Jarrod Burton


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
676
Post Likes
162
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Didn't have to wait long for a v2.0 of this incident.

Arms used, but above shoulder height.
Grounding was good, otherwise a penalty try could have been considered as a try saving tackle.
No clear head contact, BC changing height and tackler trying to go low as well (Koroibete is on one knee). Nothing to see here PT wise
 

belladonna

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
263
Post Likes
48
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
... and another one today in the Bledisloe Cup. Again no penalty, and (from what I could see) not even reviewed.
 

Jarrod Burton


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
676
Post Likes
162
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
... and another one today in the Bledisloe Cup. Again no penalty, and (from what I could see) not even reviewed.
There was a clear attempt to wrap, the AB player got knocked backwards in contact. I'd be more worried about the tip tackle which went past horizontal before dropping the player and it only being a PK.
 

shebeen

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
26
Post Likes
5
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
There was a clear attempt to wrap, the AB player got knocked backwards in contact. I'd be more worried about the tip tackle which went past horizontal before dropping the player and it only being a PK.
agreed, was clearly passed the horizontal but didn't look as bad due to a fortunate landing. It seemed that would be a RC vs YC decision given that the YC had been already been used liberally the rest of the game.
 

kudu314

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2015
Messages
7
Post Likes
1
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
If Koroibete knew how to use his arms in a tackle he might have held up Barrett in that last try that clinched victory for the AB's over the weekend. But I guess there was an attempt to wrap so it's ok.
 
Top