Ball over plane of touch but blown back in

breako


Referees in Ireland
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
310
Post Likes
2
It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

Thanks
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,379
Post Likes
286
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
No, I think, in law, and practically speaking as chances are I couldn’t be that precise anyway!
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,240
Post Likes
253
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

Thanks

No...play on.

If you are TJing or ARing don't get caught by sticking the flag up too soon! !
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,939
Post Likes
378
It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?
No. The ball isn't in touch until

  • If it is being carried, the ball carrier touches the touch line or the ground beyond it or
  • If it is loose, it touches the touch line or the ground beyond it.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,806
Post Likes
1,218
It's a windy day. The ball is kicked over the plane of touch, doesn't touch anything and is then blown back in. Is it in touch?

Thanks

Nope. Play on.

didds
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,484
Post Likes
1,786
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
As someone who has fallen foul of this I can definitely say "don't blow your whistle until the ball touches something in touch!".

I once blew for touch after a ball kicked into touch from a penalty went about 30 yards over the line, over the heads of all the spectators.
Only to see it get caught by a gust of wind just as I blew, and bend back into play where it was caught by a defender. Half the players played on, half stopped.

Never did that again!
 

Thunderhorse1986


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
226
Post Likes
0
As someone who has fallen foul of this I can definitely say "don't blow your whistle until the ball touches something in touch!".

I once blew for touch after a ball kicked into touch from a penalty went about 30 yards over the line, over the heads of all the spectators.
Only to see it get caught by a gust of wind just as I blew, and bend back into play where it was caught by a defender. Half the players played on, half stopped.

Never did that again!

Restart scrum to the catcher's team?
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,484
Post Likes
1,786
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Restart scrum to the catcher's team?

I tried to call play on, some did, some didn't. It was carnage for a few seconds.

On reflection I should have blown up, apologised and let them kick the penalty to touch again.

Big learning point.
 
Top