Collapsing maul, YC but no PT?

pombok


Referees in England
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
22
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Gloucester v Exeter last night. Exeter form a maul and keep it driving towards the line. 5m out and Tuisue collapses the maul. Ref Adam Leal YC Tuisue and awards Exeter a penalty. He says there is no PT because the ball was at the front and it was 5m out. What is the logic here, that Tuisue was entitled to tackle the ball carrier? Why no PT if he collapsed the maul?
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,318
Post Likes
278
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Didn't see it but possibly the referee was of the opinion that even if the maul had reached the goal line there were defenders in contact with the ball to prevent a grounding..."Ball at front".
 
Top