Coming to you from World Rugby

SimonSmith


Referees in Australia
Staff member
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
8,939
Post Likes
1,038
This was issued by the Refs Dept at Mothership Colorado. They had requested a clarification from WR on this issue, and this was what was received:

KICKING THE BALL IN A RUCK:

  1. If a player is part of the ruck he may attempt to kick the ball:
    1. If he makes contact with a player on the ground which results in foul play, the sanction is a PK and possibly suspension/red card.
    2. If he kicks the ball out of the scrumhalf's hands the sanction is a PK and possibly suspension/red card.
  2. If a player is not part of the ruck and then steps over or comes around the side of the ruck and kicks the ball:
    1. PK and possibly suspension.
    2. If he makes contact with a player on the ground which results in foul play, the sanction is a PK and possibly suspension/red card.
    3. If he kicks the ball out of the scrumhalf's hands the sanction is a PK and possibly suspension/red card.

































 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,536
Post Likes
1,822
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I don't get it. Isn't that all obvious?
Is there something missing from the large blank space?
 

Pinky


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
1,517
Post Likes
187
I don't get it. Isn't that all obvious?
Is there something missing from the large blank space?

You got a large blank space too, but this is not news to me either.
 

Camquin

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
1,601
Post Likes
278
As far as I can see the clarification say
1) Those in a ruck may ruck, provided they do so legally and if they infringe they should be punished as set out in the laws.
2) Those offside should be punished as set out in the laws.
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,536
Post Likes
1,822
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
As far as I can see the clarification say
1) Those in a ruck may ruck, provided they do so legally and if they infringe they should be punished as set out in the laws.
2) Those offside should be punished as set out in the laws.

They must have a degree in stating the bleeding obvious!
I'm surprised World Rugby even bothered replying :chin:
 

Ian_Cook


Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
13,650
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Here's the bit I find important Phil

"If a player is not part of the ruck and then steps over"

We have seen some of this going on in SR this season; players "joining" a ruck (really just entering and not really binding to anyone) and referees have been letting it go saying things like "He's OK, came through the middle".

Hopefully, the clarification will put an end to the practice!!
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,851
Post Likes
2,290
They must have a degree in stating the bleeding obvious!
I'm surprised World Rugby even bothered replying :chin:

It might make more sense if we knew what the question was (often the WR answers seem to be slightly tangential to the purpose of the question)

the question might have been to clear up an area where there is sometimes some myth/uncertainty --
after all, look who asked, here on this site back in 2009, whether it's OK to kick the ball out of a ruck ... :)
http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread.php?7350-Kicking-the-ball-out-of-a-ruck


However - I'd hazard a guess the question arose from this incident
http://www.the42.ie/mike-brown-conor-murray-kicking-rucks-2633203-Feb2016/
and whether MB's actions were dangerous/legal ... to which the answer was: RTFM
 
Last edited:

DocY


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
1,809
Post Likes
421
However - I'd hazard a guess the question arose from this incident
http://www.the42.ie/mike-brown-conor-murray-kicking-rucks-2633203-Feb2016/
and whether MB's actions were dangerous/legal ... to which the answer was: RTFM

If it was this incident that prompted it, I'm surprised.

I was expecting any clarification arising from this to be along the lines of "you can use your feet to control the ball and drag it back, but if you're trying to kick it forwards, you're probably being a dick".

I expect Ian is right, but it would have been clearer if they'd just said "No, if you're not bound into the ruck, don't kick the bloody ball!"
 
Last edited:

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,851
Post Likes
2,290
it's rugby-refs.com version of Jeopardy : here's WR's answer to a question : guess the question.

the possibilities are infinite!
 

Ian_Cook


Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
13,650
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
it's rugby-refs.com version of Jeopardy : here's WR's answer to a question : guess the question.

the possibilities are infinite!


Well, it is really obvious what the question was.... 'what is 6 x 9?
 

Pegleg

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
3,330
Post Likes
536
Current Referee grade:
Level 3
It might make more sense if we knew what the question was (often the WR answers seem to be slightly tangential to the purpose of the question)

the question might have been to clear up an area where there is sometimes some myth/uncertainty --
after all, look who asked, here on this site back in 2009, whether it's OK to kick the ball out of a ruck ... :)
http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread.php?7350-Kicking-the-ball-out-of-a-ruck


However - I'd hazard a guess the question arose from this incident
http://www.the42.ie/mike-brown-conor-murray-kicking-rucks-2633203-Feb2016/
and whether MB's actions were dangerous/legal ... to which the answer was: RTFM

I was about to post a similar thought.
 

The Fat


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4,204
Post Likes
496
It might make more sense if we knew what the question was (often the WR answers seem to be slightly tangential to the purpose of the question)

You want a vague response from WR? Read Law Clarification 1-2016
 

The Fat


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4,204
Post Likes
496
Here's the bit I find important Phil

"If a player is not part of the ruck and then steps over"

We have seen some of this going on in SR this season; players "joining" a ruck (really just entering and not really binding to anyone) and referees have been letting it go saying things like "He's OK, came through the middle".

Hopefully, the clarification will put an end to the practice!!

Agree. Only a few refs correctly pinging for offside. Not sure why others are not following the same guidelines
 
Top