Crooked Feed!!!!

BikingBud


Referees in England
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
754
Post Likes
268
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I was amazed so had to rewind it and watch it again. Northampton pulled for a crooked feed at a scrum o_O👏 😍🥰

Game clock 29 mins.

When was the last time you saw that in the show game.
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
588
Post Likes
343
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Yes, stunned when I saw that. Though it wasn’t “just” a crooked feed, but direct to the 2nd row.
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,479
Post Likes
525
It was straight to the second row without any contact by anyone in the front row. No strike by the hooker.
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
588
Post Likes
343
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
So is law 19.15(f) now revised at the Elite level to:

f. Straight to the front row or hooker’s foot but definitely not to the 2nd row if the ref is on your side of the scrum. The scrum-half may align their shoulder on the middle line of the scrum, thereby standing a shoulder-width closer to their side of the scrum.

?
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,151
Post Likes
1,842
" The scrum-half may align their shoulder on the middle line of the scrum, thereby standing a shoulder-width closer to their side of the scrum."

well thats happened for decades!
 

Stu10


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
Messages
883
Post Likes
478
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
I haven't seen the game, but I wonder if this was the first and/or only crooked feed in that game, or were there others that were not pulled up?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
I haven't seen the game, but I wonder if this was the first and/or only crooked feed in that game, or were there others that were not pulled up?
i stronlgy suspect tempo would have given a warning before sanctioning.
I think the FK was actually prompted by the hooker not striking.
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,479
Post Likes
525
I think the FK was actually prompted by the hooker not striking.
Agree. But to be fair to the hooker he didn’t have a chance because it didn’t get anywhere near him. Any more crooked and it would have gone straight to the outside half!
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,619
Post Likes
447
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Agree. But to be fair to the hooker he didn’t have a chance because it didn’t get anywhere near him. Any more crooked and it would have gone straight to the outside half!
It doesn't matter whether he had a "chance" or not. The hooker 'must strike for the ball' not necessarily actually strike it!
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
588
Post Likes
343
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
i stronlgy suspect tempo would have given a warning before sanctioning.
I think the FK was actually prompted by the hooker not striking.
I wonder if the next pre-match briefing has the SH asking “So as long as the hooker strikes I’m ok to feed straight to the #8, ok?”
 

Stu10


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
Messages
883
Post Likes
478
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
I had the whistle for u16 yesterday... the visiting scrum half stood left of the tunnel centre :rolleyes: and fed it backwards at such an extreme speed and angle the ball rebounded off his prop's leg straight to our 2nd row, who quickly moved it back and then our 8 was away before anyone knew what had happened... I was in such disbelief and trying not to laugh that I played on since the advantage seemed reasonable. 🤣

I had a word in the 9's ear before the next scrum!!!
 

ianh5979


Referees in England
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
470
Post Likes
60
Does anyone think the tight head should have been penalised first for forcing the loose heads elbow down so low that he actually blocked the tunnel so the SH couldn't put the ball in straight.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,151
Post Likes
1,842
good point.

Thing is both binds are on the shirt. Just not long enough to keep the elbows out of it .

Certainly a "manage" scenario to prevent this.

2ndary hypothetical question.

has the s/half tried to put the ball down the centre and it just hit the dropped elbow/elbows ... what then?

Id imagine THAT would prompt a ref intervention about binds?
 
Top