Defending locks in a maul

Zebra1922


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
698
Post Likes
210
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Why do referees allow a defending lock in a maul to reach over with both arms to try and pull in the ball carrier? By definition if they are using both arms they cannot be bound. Seems to be accepted practice at professional level but I don’t understand why its OK.

Seen for this post in SA vs Wales, but happens in most professional games.
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,288
Post Likes
265
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
They are otherwise bound into the maul so can free up both arms...ie bound in by teammates and opposition players. I think 'caught in' is the proper term used in law.
 
Last edited:

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,480
Post Likes
635
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Law 16.10
All players in a maul must be caught in or bound to it and not just alongside it.
 

Jarrod Burton


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
682
Post Likes
164
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Being caught in the maul happens to the initial ball carrier all the time, otherwise almost every maul set up from a line out should be penalised against the initial ball carrier when they pass it back and stand up to block opposition players from moving through.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,990
Post Likes
1,286
Why do referees allow a defending lock in a maul to reach over with both arms to try and pull in the ball carrier? By definition if they are using both arms they cannot be bound. Seems to be accepted practice at professional level but I don’t understand why its OK.

Seen for this post in SA vs Wales, but happens in most professional games.
You can be caught in a maul ie the maul has formed around you - then you do not need to be bound.
 
Top