Definition of "Out of the Ruck"

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,392
Post Likes
1,651
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
But what if the house leaves you behind? (e.g. red 6 clears blue 7, can another blue pick up the ball? Because i've seen instances where even after the clear and no one being on the ball, the ref penalised picking up the ball)
if the house leaves you behind then the ball is out of the ruck and general play laws apply.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,700
Post Likes
2,239
if the house leaves you behind then the ball is out of the ruck and general play laws apply.
Particularly the prohibition on playing ball on the ground which (perhaps strangely) we tend to allow the ball carrier some leniency in the ruck, in order to make ball available.. but not if the ruck moves away and he is left in the open
 
Top