deliberate into touch after knock-on

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,272
Post Likes
259
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
You are right. There is no suggestion that Green did anything intentionally illegal. It was a common or garden variety knock-on. If he'd regained the ball it would have been play on. But he didn't, it was touched by Blue, so Blue scrum ... EXCEPT Blue then committed egregious & unnecessary foul play.

But what makes it interesting for me is considering what Barnes would have done if Blue had committed some other type of non-dangerous foul play, such as obstruction or intentionally knocking the ball forward. Would he still have penalised Blue or come back for the scrum?

You are asking some good questions. ...challenging!

We seem to agree that Green was 'juggling' therefore deemed to be in possession.
So therefore blue simply took the ball and gained possession. I would therefore be refereeing from that point and judging what happened next....ie no knock on from green.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
maybe this is a better question.

Let's say that, after the Green knock-on, the ball hits the ground then Blue intentionally knocks ball into touch. Would Barnes have still gone to his pocket?

Great question.
He would have given scrum blue , I reckon
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,534
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Great question.
He would have given scrum blue , I reckon

but there'd be no logic to that. Once he decided that no PT, then whether ball hits ground or not shouldn't matter. Advantage law says foul play trumps knock on, so penalty should always be awarded against Blue.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
but there'd be no logic to that. Once he decided that no PT, then whether ball hits ground or not shouldn't matter. Advantage law says foul play trumps knock on, so penalty should always be awarded against Blue.

well the logic would be that ifthe ball hit the floor (clearly now a knock on by green) then blue subsequently knocking the ball into touch would be completely immaterial. So scrum blue for the knock on (and a quick word of explanation would be in order)
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,534
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
well the logic would be that ifthe ball hit the floor (clearly now a knock on by green) then blue subsequently knocking the ball into touch would be completely immaterial. So scrum blue for the knock on (and a quick word of explanation would be in order)

1. but as soon as Blue touches the ball (in lieu of ball touching ground) it is "clearly a knock on by Green". So what happens after that is immaterial.

2. law 7 doesn't distinguish between dangerous foul play and non-dangerous foul play. So if a punch to the mouth is always material, then all other "foul plays" (inc. knocking ball into touch) must be material.

Anyway, all good fun. Good to have a think about these things.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
Yes, it is actually a very interesting incident
 

Rich_NL

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,531
Post Likes
438
This was recently addressed in another thread. I think (at least for me) foul = dangerous, unfair, misconduct and not obstruction or repeated offences.

If green knocked on and blue started screaming abuse in the ref's ear or flung himself to the ground clutching his face, I'd be giving the penalty against that and not going back for the scrum.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
This was recently addressed in another thread. I think (at least for me) foul = dangerous, unfair, misconduct and not obstruction or repeated offences.

If green knocked on and blue started screaming abuse in the ref's ear or flung himself to the ground clutching his face, I'd be giving the penalty against that and not going back for the scrum.

green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue smacks it into touch ..... decision?
green knocks ball forward, blue smacks it into touch .... decision?
 

Rich_NL

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,531
Post Likes
438
In practice, scrum blue for the first (if I've not called advantage), penalty green for the second. Certainly in the case of last weekend, where there's a clear and obvious chance of regathering.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
it's fun to introduce a clock

blue is winning by 1 point, time has expired - green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue smacks it into touch ..... decision?

knock on = time up = end of game hmmm.. doesn't seem quite right -- but you are not going to give green a match winning PK from that
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,272
Post Likes
259
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
it's fun to introduce a clock

blue is winning by 1 point, time has expired - green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue smacks it into touch ..... decision?

knock on = time up = end of game hmmm.. doesn't seem quite right -- but you are not going to give green a match winning PK from that

Time is irrelevant.

Edit....match winning or otherwise is definitely irrelevant!
 
Last edited:

thepercy


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
923
Post Likes
147
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
it's fun to introduce a clock

blue is winning by 1 point, time has expired - green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue smacks it into touch ..... decision?

knock on = time up = end of game hmmm.. doesn't seem quite right -- but you are not going to give green a match winning PK from that

I'd give the PK, Bleu are stupid, and deserve the PK. In the OP the Bleu player can be seen anguishing as soon as he knocks it into touch because he knows it was dumb to do what he did, and expects the PK and YC.

At my level a PK near enough to touch that intentionally knock into touch is a possibility is not definite points.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,534
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
it's fun to introduce a clock

blue is winning by 1 point, time has expired - green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue smacks it into touch ..... decision?

knock on = time up = end of game hmmm.. doesn't seem quite right -- but you are not going to give green a match winning PK from that

So blue is winning by 1 point, time has expired - green knocks ball forward, ball hits ground, blue player catches ball and throws it into crowd in celebration of the win. ???

And would field position be of any relevance to your decision?
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,534
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
A corollary:

White are running their back line and a try is a distinct possibility.

The final pass is clearly forward however a Red defender sticks his hand out and deliberately knocks the ball forward to thwart the try. He had no prospect of catching ball.

Decision: scrum Red for the knock on or White penalty for the knock down?
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,210
Post Likes
333
A corollary:

White are running their back line and a try is a distinct possibility.

The final pass is clearly forward however a Red defender sticks his hand out and deliberately knocks the ball forward to thwart the try. He had no prospect of catching ball

Decision: scrum Red for the knock on or White penalty for the knock down?


At grassroots both your scenarios are easy. What is clear and obvious?
Scenario 1 in previous post. Ball knocked on and hit floor before anything else, therefore knock on. The ref saw the knock on and so did the thirty players.:)
Scenario 2 above. Clear and obvious forward pass. First offence. Scrum.

It gets tricky if it is not C&O and we get down to management as usual. The ref has to decide. Tricky if - scenario 1 - what if the ball had come off the chest and no arms involved - or maybe? Scenario 2 - Long pass llegal to start but blown forward by wind.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,534
Post Likes
1,717
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
At grassroots both your scenarios are easy. What is clear and obvious?
Scenario 1 in previous post. Ball knocked on and hit floor before anything else, therefore knock on. The ref saw the knock on and so did the thirty players.:)
Scenario 2 above. Clear and obvious forward pass. First offence. Scrum.

while I don't disagree with you, do you agree that this is contrary to law?
 

OB..


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
22,966
Post Likes
1,829
A knock-on does not in itself stop play.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,082
Post Likes
2,368
At grassroots both your scenarios are easy. What is clear and obvious?
Scenario 1 in previous post. Ball knocked on and hit floor before anything else, therefore knock on. The ref saw the knock on and so did the thirty players.:)
Scenario 2 above. Clear and obvious forward pass. First offence. Scrum.

.

I think both of these are good decisions.

So then I am starting to think that perhaps Barnesy should have given a scrum for his one ....
 

thepercy


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
923
Post Likes
147
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
At grassroots both your scenarios are easy. What is clear and obvious?
Scenario 1 in previous post. Ball knocked on and hit floor before anything else, therefore knock on. The ref saw the knock on and so did the thirty players.:)
Scenario 2 above. Clear and obvious forward pass. First offence. Scrum.

It gets tricky if it is not C&O and we get down to management as usual. The ref has to decide. Tricky if - scenario 1 - what if the ball had come off the chest and no arms involved - or maybe? Scenario 2 - Long pass llegal to start but blown forward by wind.

Don't we judge if a pass is forward or not based on how it comes out of the hands? And we don't take into consideration the pass ends up due to momentum or wind?
 

thepercy


Referees in America
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
923
Post Likes
147
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Why? If there was a punch or kick to the face then you would give the PK? But unfair play isn't real foul play, it's just listed there in the book?
 
Top