Referees in England
- Jan 21, 2009
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Level 8
It's in the definitions (and used consistently)
[LAWS].Kicked directly into touch: The ball is kicked into touch without first landing on the
playing area or touching a player or the referee. [/LAWS]
Cheers. Yes - this is how I was interpreting it. I just wanted to make sure all other refs are consistent with this interpretation too. I had heard some were applying similar logic for a knock-on which bounces and then goes into touch i.e. the option of scrum or lineout is still available irrespective to the ball bouncing on the field before touch.
Worth checking with folks.