Drop goal after FK taken as scrum

Bungle


Referees in England
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
162
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
A weekend off the whistle so I watched an NL1 game at the weekend up north. Scrum to white just outside the 22. Early engagement by green - FK to white. They chose the scrum being pretty dominant. White get a shove on and drive it a few metres with ball at the base. White SH ships it out to their fly half while Green SH attemps to go for the ball but doesn't get a hand near. White FH drop kicks the ball between the uprights and over the crossbar. Drop goal awarded.

Am I right in thinking this should not have been allowed - as per the definition in Law 9 A 1 - or have I missed something? I appreciate it is very arcane law so I'm not entirely sure. One of those once-every-few-years scenarios...
 

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,665
Post Likes
905
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
A weekend off the whistle so I watched an NL1 game at the weekend up north. Scrum to white just outside the 22. Early engagement by green - FK to white. They chose the scrum being pretty dominant. White get a shove on and drive it a few metres with ball at the base. White SH ships it out to their fly half while Green SH attemps to go for the ball but doesn't get a hand near. White FH drop kicks the ball between the uprights and over the crossbar. Drop goal awarded.

Am I right in thinking this should not have been allowed - as per the definition in Law 9 A 1 - or have I missed something? I appreciate it is very arcane law so I'm not entirely sure. One of those once-every-few-years scenarios...

Oh Christ noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :mad:

Sorry Bungle. I would say no it's not allowed however in a Dennis Wheatley type way you may well have summoned a creature from the South West that will now bore us all shitless for the next two weeks. :biggrin:
 
Last edited:

TheBFG


Referees in England
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
4,392
Post Likes
237
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Oh Christ noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :mad:

Sorry Bungle. I would say no it's not allowed however in a Dennis Wheatley type way you may well have summoned a creature from the South West that will now bore us all shitless for the next two weeks. :biggrin:

MODS please hide this post from our Cornish Pirate:Nerv:

By the way the general opinion is that your NL ref made a cock up, i trust the game wasn't won by 3 points:cool:
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,941
Post Likes
380
... Am I right in thinking this should not have been allowed - as per the definition in Law 9 A 1 - or have I missed something? I appreciate it is very arcane law so I'm not entirely sure. One of those once-every-few-years scenarios...
I had nightmares about this happening in a game I was reffing - it's in THIS thread.

What it boils down to is this
  1. The can't score a drop goal from a FK because
  2. The ball hasn't been touched by an opponnent first
  3. If they do kick it - treat it just like any other kick through in-goal ie 22DO with a scrum back option.
 

dave_clark


Referees in England
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
4,643
Post Likes
96
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
green hooker clearly got a foot to the ball while it was still in the scrum. correct decision.

:biggrin: :p :wink:
 

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,731
Post Likes
3
green hooker clearly got a foot to the ball while it was still in the scrum. correct decision.

:biggrin: :p :wink:

Wrong - in my view.

Needs to be played by an opponent after the scrum is over, same as after the kick is over.

See long and inconclusive thread somewhere; I can't be arsed to find it.

File this with Forward passes.
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,941
Post Likes
380
Wrong - in my view. Needs to be played by an opponent after the scrum is over, same as after the kick is over.

See long and inconclusive thread somewhere; I can't be arsed to find it.

File this with Forward passes.
Judging by DCs smilies, I think he was suggesting a possible get out clause for the ref. :Zip:

And I think the "long and inconclusive thread" may have been mine .... mentioned in Post 5. :eek:
 
Last edited:

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,731
Post Likes
3
Nah - not that one. Ther's another one somewhere that deals exactly with the scrum instead of kick option and drop goals.

Point is it ISN'T a get out clause - in my view, because touching the ball in the scrum doesn't count.

See the thread. If you can find it.:)
 

OB..


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
22,980
Post Likes
1,836
I agree with Davet both in the substance of his view and that it is not worth pursuing further.

Dave Clark was just stirring.
 

Jacko


Argentina Referees in Argentina
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
1,514
Post Likes
79
Current Referee grade:
National Panel
This sounds worryingly familiar...

Was it the Yorkshire derby??
 

Bungle


Referees in England
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
162
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Yes, Mr Jackson, it was indeed...

there but for the grace of god go us all :biggrin:
 

Jacko


Argentina Referees in Argentina
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
1,514
Post Likes
79
Current Referee grade:
National Panel
Oh well - assessor missed it too!

Weird game wasn't it? Wharfedale very disappointing.
 

Simon Thomas


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
12,848
Post Likes
189
no score, incorrectly given.

oh I wish I had been the assessor - I haven't seen a drop goal all season !
 

Adam


Referees in England
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
2,489
Post Likes
35
no score, incorrectly given.

oh I wish I had been the assessor - I haven't seen a drop goal all season !

You should have come to my level 14 match on Saturday, it was a beauty!
 

chopper15

Learned Terrace Ref
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
5,774
Post Likes
3
. . . the old ones/one's are always the best.:clap: :clap: :clap:


PS. What happens if the ball's not put in straight into an uncontested scrum?

Do you wait for the opposition to channel it back across the tunnel so's not to waste too much time?

I ask because, should the answer be yes, it's a perfect opportunity for the FK scrum option. Then the law would allow the the ensuing DK.

But that's where the law 'as she is writ' differs from refs' interpretation 'as she is rote'. :biggrin: :clap:

Before you all go, please confirm for me and any rookie refs listening:

If the ball is taken against the head and squirts out the back of the opponent's FK scrum option before their SH or 8 can touch it and a DK is put over, does that kick register 3pts?:Nerv:

PPS . . . and who was it that said I didn't know the LoG ? Huh and Pshaw to you both.:mad:
 
Last edited:

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,731
Post Likes
3
Not for me - the opponents must play the ball after the scrum is completed. Playing it in the scrum doesn't count.
Same as playing the ball after the kick.
 

chopper15

Learned Terrace Ref
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
5,774
Post Likes
3
Not for me - the opponents must play the ball after the scrum is completed. Playing it in the scrum doesn't count.
Same as playing the ball after the kick.

:confused: My query, Davet was exactly that ie., If the ball is taken against the head and squirts out the back of the opponent's FK scrum option before their SH or 8 can touch it and a DK is put over, does that kick register 3pts?

The law states the scrum is over when it emerges, irrespective of which side handles it.:hap:

You've got it in for me. :sad:
 
Top