[Law] Dropping out of the line

lawsons

Facebook Member
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Is it just me do refs not ping this any more?

Attachments

• B5493FEB-4C8F-474C-AC72-26F6E26ABED4.jpeg
    B5493FEB-4C8F-474C-AC72-26F6E26ABED4.jpeg
    34.7 KB · Views: 48
  • A7EE6C73-1A30-4B73-B958-B3F5F5F3A12C.jpeg
    A7EE6C73-1A30-4B73-B958-B3F5F5F3A12C.jpeg
    36.6 KB · Views: 48

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Post Likes
I have been raising this point for a few years and the general response I get is ‘we’ve got more important things to look at and consider’.

chbg

Referees in England
Solutions
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
I have been raising this point for a few years and the general response I get is ‘we’ve got more important things to look at and consider’.

Particularly when changing positions (18.17a) and peeling (to receive the ball, 18.28) are permitted; it is not as though every change in the straight lines is liable to penalty.

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Post Likes
Particularly when changing positions (18.17a) and peeling (to receive the ball, 18.28) are permitted; it is not as though every change in the straight lines is liable to penalty.[/QUOT

If they complied wuth 18.17a and 18.28 there’d be no priblem. What we are seeing a lot of is jumping out and not changing place. Partial peeling but not continuing to move etc, and generally a pod of players waiting for the lifting pod to let the catcher come down.

SimonSmith

Referees in Australia
Staff member
Post Likes
The very philosophy that made scrums what they are today

chbg

Referees in England
Solutions
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Particularly when changing positions (18.17a) and peeling (to receive the ball, 18.28) are permitted; it is not as though every change in the straight lines is liable to penalty.[/QUOT