Fumbled and touch

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
Blue kicks high for touch

Red player positions himself to catch the ball, with one foot in touch ,one foot in the field of play... And..

1. fumbles the catch knocking it forward, ball lands on field of play

2. Fumbles the catch and ball goes backward landing in touch

What's the decision

(both these actually happened in Leicester v Quins this evening)
 

Pinky


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
1,521
Post Likes
192
1 depends if the ball had crossed the plane of touch. If so, line out as if kicked straight out. If not, the scrum to kicking team 5m in from catcher/fumbler.
 

Pinky


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
1,521
Post Likes
192
2Touch as if kicked out on the full. The catcher/fumbler is in touch.
 

ddjamo


Referees in Canada
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
2,912
Post Likes
135
neither are a catch and you didn't address the plane...so....

1. KO - scrum kicking side.
2. touch - line to kicking side.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
This is real life, and you are the ref, in field not on the touchline, so you can't tell if the ball crossed the plane of touch or not. (it's very very marginal, the would be catcher is straddling the touchline, catching the ball)

What do you give
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,493
Solutions
1
Post Likes
451
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
Don't reward the fumbler
 

Accylad


Referees in England
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
179
Post Likes
33
This is real life, and you are the ref, in field not on the touchline, so you can't tell if the ball crossed the plane of touch or not. (it's very very marginal, the would be catcher is straddling the touchline, catching the ball)

What do you give

"Knock on. Want something different? - catch it"
 

The Fat


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4,204
Post Likes
496
Blue kicks high for touch

Red player positions himself to catch the ball, with one foot in touch ,one foot in the field of play... And..

1. fumbles the catch knocking it forward, ball lands on field of play

2. Fumbles the catch and ball goes backward landing in touch

What's the decision

(both these actually happened in Leicester v Quins this evening)

Assuming ball had not crossed the plane of touch;
No.1 is straight forward. Knock-on by red fumbler so scrum on 5m line in line with where contact was made
No.2 is less clear in law but I agree with ddjamo, lineout to blue where red fumbled and ball crossed the touch line
 

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3,231
Post Likes
356
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Ball strikes object/player in touch. Therefor ball out on the full. Fumbler rewarded with LO unless kick from PK, LO from place of kick if in front of kickers 22. Fumble not material. Plane of touch not material.
 
Last edited:

The Fat


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4,204
Post Likes
496
Ball strikes object/player in touch. Therefor ball out on the full. Fumbler rewarded with LO unless kick from PK, LO from place of kick if in front of kickers 22. Fumble not material.

Using your rationale, how do you rule on the last paragraph in Definitions for Law 19?

A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touchline. The plane of the touchline is the vertical space rising immediately above the touchline.

 

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3,231
Post Likes
356
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
You have a point but I'd still go with my post. Curious to hear the call, though.
 

Pegleg

Rugby Expert
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
3,330
Post Likes
536
Current Referee grade:
Level 3
This is real life, and you are the ref, in field not on the touchline, so you can't tell if the ball crossed the plane of touch or not. (it's very very marginal, the would be catcher is straddling the touchline, catching the ball)

What do you give

It would depend on whether I thought it had crossed the plane of touch or not. SO it depends on what I would have seen in the scenario. So sorry the answer has to be "if". Nothong t odo with rewarding either player. It depends on what I perceived to happen.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
Pegleg:283177 said:
This is real life, and you are the ref, in field not on the touchline, so you can't tell if the ball crossed the plane of touch or not. (it's very very marginal, the would be catcher is straddling the touchline, catching the ball)

What do you give

It would depend on whether I thought it had crossed the plane of touch or not. SO it depends on what I would have seen in the scenario. So sorry the answer has to be "if". Nothong t odo with rewarding either player. It depends on what I perceived to happen.

I'm real life you can't tell whether it crossed the plane. But go on, spell out the answer to what becomes four scenarios . You can also address the ball that straddles the plane of touch if you like
 

Rushforth


Referees in Holland
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
1,300
Post Likes
92
I'm real life you can't tell whether it crossed the plane. But go on, spell out the answer to what becomes four scenarios . You can also address the ball that straddles the plane of touch if you like

6.A.4.(a) and since ARs are available 6.A.7.(a) too.

Also, how did you manage to type "I'm"?
 

OB..


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
22,981
Post Likes
1,838
A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touchline. The plane of the touchline is the vertical space rising immediately above the touchline.
Precisely.

If the ball has not broken the plance of touch, treat it as if the player was entirely in the field of play.
If it has broken the plane of touch, treat the player as if he were stading wholly in touch.

Yes, it will sometimes be hard to judge, so just do your best. Do not fudge the clear occasions just because of the difficult ones.
 

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3,231
Post Likes
356
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Any video of the two events?

Can't imagine a scenario where the receiving player straddles touch and there is no doubt that the ball has not touched the plane. Therefore I'll stick to my first assessment for both: "Ball in touch direct from the kick".

If video clearly shows otherwise then I'll go with the knock-on.
 

Blackberry


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
1,125
Post Likes
202
Hang on, if the ball makes contact with something in touch.... the ball is then in touch. End of chat. Is that right?
 

The umpire


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
870
Post Likes
29
Hang on, if the ball makes contact with something in touch.... the ball is then in touch. End of chat. Is that right?

Not if the ball hasn't crossed the plane of touch and the 'something' is a player who doesn't catch the ball.
Sounds odd, I know, but there it is.
 

The Fat


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
4,204
Post Likes
496
Hang on, if the ball makes contact with something in touch.... the ball is then in touch. End of chat. Is that right?

Last paragraph in Definitions for Law 19
A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touchline. The plane of the touchline is the vertical space rising immediately above the touchline.

AND

22.4(g)
Player in touch or touch-in-goal. If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.

are two examples where that is not the case.
 
Top