[Line out] Help with this law ?

ChuckieB

Rugby Expert
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
1,057
Post Likes
115
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Anything not reaching five metres for all reasons other than the exception of the qti prevented by the opposition ( because the law says it) is for, me an incorrect throw in.

a qti throwing to himself and short 5m is an incorrect throw in.
a ball being played by any player in a lineout before it reaches 5 metres is an incorrect throw in. If it is thrown in short and played by the opposition dliebrate or not, it is an incorrect throw in. It means the team throwing should have worked harder to throw the ball in 5 metres, likely that they were going for the short one and left themselves open to getting it wrong.

So different to Chris R but, rightly or wrongly, more technically in tune with what is actually written in the laws imo. When formulated I don't ever suppose they much thought about the throw short to the front man, preferring a text book jump and compete for the ball in the air.

like a text book rucking situation, where the law no longer reflects what actually happens in the real world
 
Last edited:

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
I think we're making this harder than it needs to be. Ignore the actual wording for a minute for both QTI and lineout and consider this:

Throwing team mucks it up. Ie. ball thrown short or teammate of thrower prevents ball going 5m. Sanction: Turnover with choice of scrum or lineout.

Opponent stops ball going 5m. Sanction FK.

that's another interpretation -- and one that I have heard before.
it seems unfair on the non-throwing team.

red throw in -
- if blue #1 oversteps the 5m line he gives away a FK (which can be taken as a lineout or a scrum)
- if red #1 oversteps the 5m line he gives away a scrum/lineout option

I don't see why we would be harsher on blue than on red -- for the same offence
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
Different circumstances, therefore different tactical situations.

so this drove me back to the Law Book to check what exactly it says for a QTI, compared to a lineout.

and it exposes [yet another] difference between the 2017 and 2018 Law Books (groan)

Scenario - ball is thrown in, and a player catches it 4m out

2017 The Laws for QTI and Lineout are the same - ie ambiguous in both cases

QTI --
19.2(e) says it's an incorrect throw, and scrum awarded the non-throwing team
19.2(h) says it's blocking the throw, and FK to awarded to the non-blocking team

Lineout
19.6 & 19.7 together say it's an incorrect throw, and scrum/lineout option awarded to the non-throwing team
19.10(h) says it's blocking a throw and a FK to awarded to the non-blocking team

2018 The Laws for QTI and Lineout are different (sigh) the ambiguity remains for a QTI, but in lineout its different

QTI --
18.4 says it's an incorrect throw, and scrum awarded the non-throwing team
18.6 says it's blocking the throw, and FK to awarded to the non-blocking team

Lineout
18.23(b) says it's an incorrect throw, and scrum/lineout option awarded the non-throwing team
There is no longer an offence of blocking the throw



So where does that leave us?
I imagine the omission is accidental.
I am leaning to the view that the new Law Book really is a pile of pants!
 
Last edited:

Christy


Referees in Ireland
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
527
Post Likes
60
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Anything not reaching five metres for all reasons other than the exception of the qti prevented by the opposition ( because the law says it) is for, me an incorrect throw in

dont entirely agree chuck ..its not the throwers incorrect throw in ,,if an opposition player in line out or team mate player in line out , reaches into channel or steps into channel to play the ball.
you cant say the thrower threw in ball incorrectly for either of these scenarios .


a qti throwing to himself and short 5m is an incorrect throw in.
..yes agree ,,scrum or line out opposition

a ball being played by any player in a lineout before it reaches 5 metres is an incorrect throw in .....dont agree ,,its not the throwers fault ,,its actually the catchers fault for not letting ball travel full distance

. If it is thrown in short and played by the opposition dliebrate or not, it is an incorrect throw in
the only time we are likely to see a ball not reaching 5 meters i agree would be from a quick throw wherethe thrower might throw 10 meters towards his own try line , but unfortunately its not gone infield the required 5 meters ( unless thrower has some kind of muscle spasm in his arms , we will never have a situation where thrower wont get the ball to travel 5 meters in a normal line out )

It means the team throwing should have worked harder to throw the ball in 5 metres, likely that they were going for the short one and left themselves open to getting it wrong
for me , its usually his line out team mate reaching into channel to soon who makes a mess of this in a full line out situation ..

So different to Chris R but, rightly or wrongly, more technically in tune with what is actually written in the laws imo. When formulated I don't ever suppose they much thought about the throw short to the front man, preferring a text book jump and compete for the ball in the air.
for me , this is where law sanction is a fair sanction .
Player reaches in & catches ball , before ball travels 5 is scrum turn over only ( or line out )
...but if opposition player or team mate players steps into channel or started in channel ,,they now have a massive advantage of being able to meet ball sooner ,,,,there for the sanction is harsher as in free kick .


like a text book rucking situation, where the law no longer reflects what actually happens in the real world
.................
 

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3,231
Post Likes
356
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
a ball being played by any player in a lineout before it reaches 5 metres is an incorrect throw in. If it is thrown in short and played by the opposition dliebrate or not, it is an incorrect throw in. It means the team throwing should have worked harder to throw the ball in 5 metres, likely that they were going for the short one and left themselves open to getting it wrong.

This does't make any sense. You're saying that an attempt to throw to the first lineout player gets blocked short by an opponent who jumps in front is the throwers fault coz he should have tried harder?

I don't think so.
 

Blackberry


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
1,125
Post Likes
202
For me, change the word "and" in #6 to "so"... then it seems to make sense. If it doesn't go 5 because of a cock up, its a scrum, if it doesn't go 5 because someone played it, its a free kick.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
For me if someone plays the ball inside the 5m line I give a FK
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
Reminds me of the day at ivel barbarians when we, throwing, were FKd for the ball not travelling 5m .. because the oppo #1 caught it before it reached the 5m line.

Yes. You read that correctly.

Didds
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,849
Post Likes
888
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
a qti throwing to himself and short 5m is an incorrect throw in.
a ball being played by any player in a lineout before it reaches 5 metres is an incorrect throw in. If it is thrown in short and played by the opposition dliebrate or not, it is an incorrect throw in. It means the team throwing should have worked harder to throw the ball in 5 metres, likely that they were going for the short one and left themselves open to getting it wrong.


Total nonsense. How can you be penslised because of what the other side does? Sorry can't put it more politely.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
That's exactly what happened to us Marc! (See above)
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,849
Post Likes
888
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
That's exactly what happened to us Marc! (See above)

A clear law error. Unless he saw it differently to you. Mind youone ref here thinks he was right. So perhaps we have that ref on board.

THe idea that the other teams actions can default yours is tosh. There is even an example to "disprove" it in the KO law. If the ball does not go 10 the non offending side can accept the kick and play on. - NOT advantage. They play the ball and thr offence "goes away". If the logic of The call that an opponent can catch a ball a centimetre too soon at a line out makes it a n offence by the thrower, surely the same logic would see receivers attempting to touch kick offs before they travel 10 to create offences by the kick. Total nonsense!
 
Last edited:

ChuckieB

Rugby Expert
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
1,057
Post Likes
115
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
A clear law error. Unless he saw it differently to you. Mind youone ref here thinks he was right. So perhaps we have that ref on board.

THe idea that the other teams actions can default yours is tosh. There is even an example to "disprove" it in the KO law. If the ball does not go 10 the non offending side can accept the kick and play on. - NOT advantage. They play the ball and thr offence "goes away". If the logic of The call that an opponent can catch a ball a centimetre too soon at a line out makes it a n offence by the thrower, surely the same logic would see receivers attempting to touch kick offs before they travel 10 to create offences by the kick. Total nonsense!

No. I actually said incorrect throw in, not fk.



  • The ball must:
    • Be thrown in straight along the mark of touch; and
    • Reach the five-metre line before it hits the ground or is played.[COLOR=#2A3D83 !important]Sanction: [/COLOR][COLOR=#2A3D83 !important]Option of lineout or scrum. If the lineout is chosen and the ball is again not thrown straight, a scrum is awarded to the team that originally threw
    • in the ball.[/COLOR]

No differentiation as to which team plays it before it reaches 5m.


In hindsight a fk is possibly an option that it would better to write into the laws. Your own side doing it, t/o ball as would be the case for an incorrect throw in but under the sanction of a free kick. The other side does it, it's also free kick to you and you don't lose possession as would seem equitable. But a free kick in both cases and the right outcome perhaps and proportional to the actual infringement, i.e don't prevent the ball from going 5m.

And consistent with the sanction applicable under the 2017 laws for blocking a qti.

So yes the current law book is the nonsense don't you think?
 
Last edited:

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
... So yes the current law book is the nonsense don't you think?
I don't think it is Chuckie.

The different sanctions refer to different players.

  • The FK sanction refers to players in the LO - regardless of which team.
  • The LO / Scrum option is in the " THROWING INTO A LINEOUT" section which applies to the thrower - usually the Hooker.
This isn't difficult gents. :biggrin:
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
I don't think it is Chuckie.

The different sanctions refer to different players.

  • The FK sanction refers to players in the LO - regardless of which team.
  • The LO / Scrum option is in the " THROWING INTO A LINEOUT" section which applies to the thrower - usually the Hooker.
This isn't difficult gents. :biggrin:

No .. this is not correct . .see post #23
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
FTR I had "a chat" with said ref at half time.

He saw the error of his ways.

FTR he had said that he had penalised us for the oppositions actions, as WE had not get the ball 5m!


This is an example of a set of howlers I've experienced/seen, or read here, where I have to question how anybody that had been involved with the game can ever believe.
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,849
Post Likes
888
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
No. I actually said incorrect throw in, not fk.



  • The ball must:
    • Be thrown in straight along the mark of touch; and
    • Reach the five-metre line before it hits the ground or is played.[COLOR=#2A3D83 !important]Sanction: [/COLOR][COLOR=#2A3D83 !important]Option of lineout or scrum. If the lineout is chosen and the ball is again not thrown straight, a scrum is awarded to the team that originally threw
    • in the ball.[/COLOR]

No differentiation as to which team plays it before it reaches 5m.


In hindsight a fk is possibly an option that it would better to write into the laws. Your own side doing it, t/o ball as would be the case for an incorrect throw in but under the sanction of a free kick. The other side does it, it's also free kick to you and you don't lose possession as would seem equitable. But a free kick in both cases and the right outcome perhaps and proportional to the actual infringement, i.e don't prevent the ball from going 5m.

And consistent with the sanction applicable under the 2017 laws for blocking a qti.

So yes the current law book is the nonsense don't you think?

Oh dear me. We are having a problem here. Please use common sense.
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
.... Scenario - ball is thrown in, and a player catches it 4m out
QTI --
19.2(e) says it's an incorrect throw, and scrum awarded the non-throwing team
How can it be an "incorrect throw" if a player in the LO goes into the 5m channel to intercept it?

Imagine the best LO throw to the front of the line in history (one Bobby Windsor himself would be proud of) and imagine an opponent steps into the 5m channel before the ball has gone beyond him and grabs the ball at 4m. Are you seriously saying that is an "incorrect throw" and the sanction is the option of a LO / Scrum?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
How can it be an "incorrect throw" if a player in the LO goes into the 5m channel to intercept it?

Imagine the best LO throw to the front of the line in history (one Bobby Windsor himself would be proud of) and imagine an opponent steps into the 5m channel before the ball has gone beyond him and grabs the ball at 4m. Are you seriously saying that is an "incorrect throw" and the sanction is the option of a LO / Scrum?

No - see post 27 - I would always give a FK, for blocking the throw.

The only problem I now have is that the offence of blocking the throw at a lineout has been removed from the 2018 Law Book.
Surely an error!
 
Top