Juggling rugby with relationships

Pablo

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Ok, so how do you all get on with balancing your relationships against rugby? The reason I ask is because this morning, the girlfriend (with whom I live) threw a strop at me for spending both days this weekend refereeing.

Some background: we both have busy jobs (I'm a management consultant, she's a corporate solicitor), mine frequently requires me to travel (Athens and Paris last week, Warsaw and Basel a fortnight ago). So our weekends are pretty much our only quality time together. But equally, I'm being pushed by my Society for promotion to Fed and Group.

Given that this girl's a keeper, my question is - how have others combined the professional, personal and rugby components of their lives? Is it possible to have a successful professional career, a high-flying refereeing career and a satisfied other half? Or should I stop kidding myself and remove myself from the running for a Group spot (because, as much as I would like to succeed in rugby, a) it doesn't pay the mortgage and b) I don't want to marry it)?

All advice gratefully received.

Deeps

Referees in England
Post Likes
Ah, the eternal question. If I knew the answer to that one I would be rich. I am afraid my good lady has just become resigned to the fact that I am out on Saturdays and Sundays.

It all started when the kids were little; dad helped out on the touchline, showed too much interest, was persuaded to take a couple of coaching courses, managed a couple of age groups, then a referees course, joined the Society and here we are... Between 60 and 70 games per season, National School Sevens coming up, Emerging Schools to follow.