It's in the Definitions[LAWS]Goal: [FONT=fs_blakeregular]A player scores a goal by kicking the ball over an opponents’ crossbar and between the goal posts from the field of play, by a place kick or drop-kick. A goal cannot be scored from a kick-off, drop-out or free kick.[/FONT][/LAWS]I coulda sworn over the post was law, I must have had in TJ course.
Right now, I can even find that the has to go over the cross bar.
Thanks for the input. I wasn't sure on this one and just encountered it this weekend while ARing. I kept the flag down but the official ruled in favor otherwise. If anyone finds any documentation or citation to support a ruling on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
back in the very early 90s I was watching a (rugby) Bundesliga match, at Eintracht Frankfurt (the rugby pitch was behind the football stadium!).
In the dieing seconds of the game a conversion sailed just wide and the (American) touch judge waved his flag side to side at knee level to indicate a miss. (yes, we know that his real reaction should have been nothing but.... it certainly wasn't a flag UP for over).
the (German) referee awarded the conversion, and the game winning points, on the basis that the TJ had moved his flag which meant the kick was over. It clearly wasn't from 60m away where we were standing.
Who had the credibility problem here?
PS this was incidentally the same ref in the same game that pinged a player at kick off for starting just outside the touchline and as the ball was kicked running towards the landing point - he was pinged for entering the field of play without the referee's permission.
what did the other AR do?
Where were you positioned in relation to the post the ball "went over"?