Line out History

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,829
Post Likes
877
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
If I saw both today, I’d strongly consider “reversing” and awarding the penalty to the team who didn’t dive.
I’ve stated similar opinions in this forum a few times, to general disagreement, but I can’t stand that kind of stuff.

“Captain, you had a penalty coming for your player being pushed down in the lineout, but the very unsportsmanlike display has resulted in a penalty awarded to red instead. If I see it happen again in this game, the consequences will be more serious.”
I would concur. As Alan Martin said the Wheel offence was happening throughout the game and was not felt worthy of a whistle until that line-out. Consistency?
 
Last edited:

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,829
Post Likes
877
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Is that an offence?
At "best" it is acts cotrary to good sportsmanship so YES. Incidentally I answered the same question (post 35) in post 36.
 
Last edited:

Ciaran Trainor


Referees in England
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
2,870
Post Likes
383
Location
Walney Island
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
I remember throwing to either Front, Middle or (rarely) Back - not sure I was aiming at a specific player (looking back, perhaps that was where I went wrong :) )

I am I right that in those days all the players had to stand a 1m apart? This meant that 'back' was rather a long way away.
I still remember my old clubs calls for front, middle or back despite never throwing in and rarely being involved in a line out
 

Mipper


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
194
Post Likes
84
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
Is that an offence?
Yes, It is an offence.
I don’t have the precise law number but I am pretty certain that it is a penalty offence to do anything that causes the ref to believe that there has been an offence by the oppposition.

(definitely better worded than that in the law book)
 

Locke


Referees in America
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Messages
248
Post Likes
150
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
Yes, It is an offence.
I don’t have the precise law number but I am pretty certain that it is a penalty offence to do anything that causes the ref to believe that there has been an offence by the oppposition.

(definitely better worded than that in the law book)
Law 9.7.c

A player must not:
C. Do anything that may lead the match officials to consider that an opponent has committed an infringement.
Sanction: Penalty
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,151
Post Likes
1,842
Law 9.7.c

A player must not:
C. Do anything that may lead the match officials to consider that an opponent has committed an infringement.
Sanction: Penalty
But not in 1978 it wasnt
 

SimonSmith


Referees in Australia
Staff member
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
9,402
Post Likes
1,520
I might be misremembering, but I'm pretty sure Quittenton said he penalized something else, didn;t he?
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,151
Post Likes
1,842
And that is what Quitendon said at the time too. What about that Bob Deans though?
 
Top