Lineout and use of outside arm...?

Lancsbarts

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
19
Post Likes
1
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Doing a bit of revision ahead of the new season and read the following - Law 18 (Lineout) - 29B "Once the lineout has commenced, any player in the lineout may: Catch or deflect the ball. A jumper may catch or deflect the ball with the outside arm only if they have both hands above their head. Sanction: Free-kick." Always thought that jumpers could only use the INSIDE arm as using the outside arm allowed them to, illegally, lever off opponants with the inside arm. Assume the laws are correct, anyone else believe it's inside arm only?
 

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,618
Post Likes
867
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
The Law's correctly written but outside arm can be used ONLY IF both arms are above the head ie so the inside arm can't be used as you describe.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,147
Post Likes
2,389
It means that the inside arm can always be used, but the outside arm can be used only if both arms above the head
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,352
Solutions
1
Post Likes
336
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Back in the 80s use of the outside arm alone was not permitted - partially as a result of levering on an opponent being illegal (another Law). Back in 2003 the (unsimplified) wording was: "When jumping for the ball, a player must use either both hands or the inside arm to try to catch or deflect the ball. The jumper must not use the outside arm alone to try to catch or deflect the ball. If the jumper has both hands above the head either hand may be used to play the ball."
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,606
Post Likes
1,874
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
This was really a law that remains from pre-lifting days, when you could jump higher by using your opponents shoulder to push off.
With lifting now allowed this law is really redundant.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,990
Post Likes
1,286
This was really a law that remains from pre-lifting days, when you could jump higher by using your opponents shoulder to push off.
With lifting now allowed this law is really redundant.
and generally speaking, and especially at commnity levels - both arms are generally needed to aid the spring, to help the lift.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,552
Post Likes
1,726
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
as long as the throw is straight I'm not going to be too fussed about this.
 

BikingBud


Referees in England
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
369
Post Likes
82
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
This was really a law that remains from pre-lifting days, when you could jump higher by using your opponents shoulder to push off.
With lifting now allowed this law is really redundant.
Or barge out (c) Wade Dooley
 

Lancsbarts

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
19
Post Likes
1
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Doing a bit of revision ahead of the new season and read the following - Law 18 (Lineout) - 29B "Once the lineout has commenced, any player in the lineout may: Catch or deflect the ball. A jumper may catch or deflect the ball with the outside arm only if they have both hands above their head. Sanction: Free-kick." Always thought that jumpers could only use the INSIDE arm as using the outside arm allowed them to, illegally, lever off opponants with the inside arm. Assume the laws are correct, anyone else believe it's inside arm only?
Thanks to everyone for their replies. The “both hands above their head” element is the critical phrase then. I’ll generally be refereeing juniors so suspect this will not come up but worth asking the question. Have a good season Northern hemisphere refs👍
 

Stu10

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
Messages
343
Post Likes
148
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
Doing a bit of revision ahead of the new season and read the following - Law 18 (Lineout) - 29B "Once the lineout has commenced, any player in the lineout may: Catch or deflect the ball. A jumper may catch or deflect the ball with the outside arm only if they have both hands above their head. Sanction: Free-kick." Always thought that jumpers could only use the INSIDE arm as using the outside arm allowed them to, illegally, lever off opponants with the inside arm. Assume the laws are correct, anyone else believe it's inside arm only?

Shift the bold and it becomes more clear... A jumper may catch or deflect the ball with the outside arm only if they have both hands above their head.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,147
Post Likes
2,389
needs an Oxford comma

A jumper may catch or deflect the ball with the outside arm, only if they have both hands above their head.
 

tim White


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
1,894
Post Likes
141
Can we have a random apostrophe please -they seem very popular.
 
Top