New Euro Comps

Toby Warren

Referees in England
Post Likes
Now that the dust has settled and the new deal has been signed - I thought a new thread is probably needed - considering that the old one is 45 pages of speculation.

What are people's views on the new deal?

It seems that that the French and English clubs have got what they wanted (whether that's a good thing is a different matter)

ERC have been comprehensively defeated

Pro12 seems to have come off worse than the existing deal.

The SKY/ BT deal seems genuinely ground breaking more akin to a deal between a free to air and subscriber deal than two pay to view providers.

Does anyone know anymore about the 3rd tier comp who is this aimed at and what is the 'prize' for winning?

Daftmedic

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Is there a link to the deal?
I'm being particularly idol today.

Browner

Banned
Post Likes
Toby,
the irony of the multi millions being wrestled over, when I'm a volunteer referee, isn't lost on me.

TBH I'm jaundiced by all of it.

Got a nice Semifinal to referee on Saturday though, hope the showers are warm !
Xx

beckett50

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
TBH I'm just glad all the wrangling is finally over.

No doubt there'll still be some rumblings over the summer, but we should be pleased that sense has been seen and a deal worked out.

Toby Warren

Referees in England
Post Likes
Toby,
the irony of the multi millions being wrestled over, when I'm a volunteer referee, isn't lost on me.

TBH I'm jaundiced by all of it.

Got a nice Semifinal to referee on Saturday though, hope the showers are warm !
Xx

I don't see any irony.

You (and me) are involved in a sport for fun, fitness and other reasons

The top level of the game is a business.

I don't see a contradiction - unless you are saying you should get millions?

FlipFlop

Referees in Switzerland
Post Likes