[Law] Next year's Law Trials

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Post Likes
I do believe that the kicking side used to have the throw in during an earlier period in the game's development. Even possibly when I started playing. OB...? Not to the restrictions outlined in the article though.

OB..

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
I do believe that the kicking side used to have the throw in during an earlier period in the game's development. Even possibly when I started playing. OB...? Not to the restrictions outlined in the article though.
Slightly before my time, but up to 1880, the first person to touch the ball down after it had crossed the touch line earned the right to throw it back in.

Since then the right has belonged to the opposition, with the exception since 1992 of a PK kicked into touch.

Jz558

Referees in England
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Each one of these as a stand-alone law change can be justified but as ever the devil will be in the wording and law of unintended consequence.

The logic behind the “50-22” makes sense but sounds like it may lead to an increase in catch and drive play which I know isn’t everyone’s favourite form of entertainment.

Lowering the tackle height was abandoned as a trial in the Championship this season because of increased concussion suffered by the tackler. What constitutes shorts level? Is that where the tackler places his shoulder or where his head ends up (ie in the picture of the Wales online article is AWJ legal if he tackles like that?)