[Tackle] Not really a tackle but a slide..

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Not a tackle. What's everyone's opinion on the incident involving Benhard Janse van Rensburg. I'll try get a video of it but t he description is...

Chasing a kick in wet conditions. Ball has bounced once, he slides at a fast pace from about 5-10m away gathers the ball and slides with his knees into another player who was attempting to gather the ball.

I think its dangerous as he's slid in uncontrollably with his knees.

What do you guys think.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,806
Post Likes
1,218
Sympathies with both players.

PK, dangerous play, finger wag to be careful going forward.

didds
 

Rich_NL

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,488
Post Likes
411
[FONT=&quot]Seems like charging/knocking down a player without attempting to grasp them. YC seems harsh, but maybe there was context... I guess feet first, same result would have been a RC.[/FONT]
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,196
Post Likes
322
As the commentator said, ‘he knew what he was doing’. Reckless with no thought of player coming forward. YC okay for me.
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,379
Post Likes
286
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
With the way the player landed, head / neck impact I can see why yellow was shown, it's a gamble unfortunately. There was one in the premiership the other week where one from each team slid in to gather a loose ball and collided bent knees to bent knees at some pace, all were ok and played on but could have been nasty
 

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Seems like charging/knocking down a player without attempting to grasp them. YC seems harsh, but maybe there was context... I guess feet first, same result would have been a RC.


I see what you're saying and I do agree. The arguments being made are that he's went to ground to get the ball. Which he has when he clatters into the other player. So the grasp isn't really required, as he's in possession of the ball and therefore technically is a ball carrier.

Where I think the recklessness AND danger element comes from is the speed of the slide. He's running at pace and slides a good 5-6m min, before gathering the ball. Then another (almost) 5ms after the collision. The point of contact is his knees, so this is another element of danger.

Like Didds said, I do sympathise for player sliding in, I don't think his intention was to injure. But As we've all discussed, intentions are irrelevant. What he did was reckless at least and I reckon dangerous too. PK def. I'd probably have given the YC too.
 

Jz558


ELRA/Club Referee
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
313
Post Likes
86
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Thats just a collision in open play. I'm not saying I wouldn't award a penalty but if you did, under what law would you do so.
 

Jz558


ELRA/Club Referee
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
313
Post Likes
86
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Actually, Ive just watched it again and I dont even think it's a penalty.
 

mcroker

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
362
Post Likes
113
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
I get the outcome is dangerous - but the retreating player is entitled to go to ground to get the ball, and also entitled to slide. I don't see him as having committed an infringement, nor do I see anything reckless there... so for me I'm restarting with a scrum orange.
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,379
Post Likes
286
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
If you were to do a no wrap chop ‘tackle’ on a player without the ball, that caused him to flip over and land on the ground on his neck would you not sanction the player then? Only real difference here is the impact was legs not arms, at least that’s how I see it.
 

beckett50


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
2,513
Post Likes
223
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
For me that is reckless and should be :noyc:
 

mcroker

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
362
Post Likes
113
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
Sure ... but if you were to push a player in the face that would also be wrong, until you had the ball - at which point it becomes a hand-off.
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,379
Post Likes
286
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
Sure ... but if you were to push a player in the face that would also be wrong, until you had the ball - at which point it becomes a hand-off.

Unless with excessive force / dangerous, in which case it’s sanctionable. Anything that puts another player at risk is sanctionable, even if the act would normally be ‘ok’, in the same way that sometimes players are injured in a legal challenge - this one I think is reckless, and predictably so
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,729
Post Likes
2,245
I get the outcome is dangerous - but the retreating player is entitled to go to ground to get the ball, and also entitled to slide. I don't see him as having committed an infringement, nor do I see anything reckless there... so for me I'm restarting with a scrum orange.

I thought he went in knees first
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,806
Post Likes
1,218
If you were to do a no wrap chop ‘tackle’ on a player without the ball, that caused him to flip over and land on the ground on his neck would you not sanction the player then? Only real difference here is the impact was legs not arms, at least that’s how I see it.



except one is a tackle on the ball carrier and the other is the ball carrier on a defnder - a hand off is a better comparison.

didds
 

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
Like I said in my OP. I reckon it's reckless and dangerous. I felt he went in knees first too, that's the dangerous part. The reckless part was the speed of sliding in. He's clearly went in with a "I'm getting ball or taking him out." attitude. That's the YC for me.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,806
Post Likes
1,218
As we cant read his mind I'd question the " or taking him out" suggestion. sometimes shit happens. That doesnt not make it dangeropus of course - and while allegedly refs shouldnt take intention into consideratoion, as oft debated the laws manifestly do expect that to occur in SOME cirtcumstances etc etc etc yadda yadda yadda


didds
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,421
Post Likes
598
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Thats just a collision in open play. I'm not saying I wouldn't award a penalty but if you did, under what law would you do so.

9.11 for me. It is reckless, at best.
 
Top