Offside at scrum for scrum half of side not putting in

Jonathan355


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Messages
22
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
I should know this but am struggling. When the ball is put in to a scrum, the onside position for the scrum half who is not putting the ball in is clear. When the ball is still in the scrum though, if that defending scrum half moves to the back of the scrum he is presumably still onside as long as he is behind the back foot. If he moves to the opposite side of the scrum from the put in though (still in line with the back foot) how far away from the scrum is he allowed to go before he would need to drop back 5 metres?
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
91
Post Likes
30
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
If they stay in line with the ball they have to stay close to the scrum. (No official definition of ‘close’ so use your judgement and be consistent, I guess…)

If they decide to retire to the offside line then I read it as they have freedom to move as near or as far from the scrum as they desire - they just need to stay in line with the hindmost foot/offside line (and I think there was a thread about that recently).

If they drop back 5m to join the main offside line then they have freedom to move anywhere as long as they stay behind the 5m offside line behind the scrum.
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,284
Solutions
1
Post Likes
277
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Law 19.30:
1642971897070.png
 

Jonathan355


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Messages
22
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
Thanks. I had looked at the law book. It wasn’t clear on whether it matters how far from the scrum the red scrum half goes laterally if he goes to the offside line at the back foot of his players.
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,226
Post Likes
247
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Ah but the dotted line representing the OS line only goes part of the way across the pitch in the image so based on the way some people interpret the LOTG the 9 can only traverse the pitch part of the way!!
 

Jonathan355


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Messages
22
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
That’s in part why I wondered!
 

Jonathan355


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Messages
22
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
That’s really helpful. Explained really clearly. Thank you v much.
 
Top