Offside when ball goes dead

Stu10

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
Messages
193
Post Likes
59
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
The referee's call was he could not stay and defend the QTI. Had a QTI not been an option then the offside lines dissapear and he could have stayed.

So, once again the ref on the day felt the offside lines were still in play because the ball was not dead in the sense that a QTI was an option. Hed there been no option for a QTI then the ball would have been dead meaning no offside lines exist anymore.

I am just saying what the ref said his reasoning was.

I'm out now as it is just the same post over and over.
Did that ref specifically say the player was offside because of the QTI, or was he penalised based on his position and movement while the ball was still in flight and in play (i.e. before the ball crossed the plane of touch)?
 

Ciaran Trainor


Referees in England
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
2,637
Post Likes
240
Location
Walney Island
Current Referee grade:
Level 7
ok.
Accepting that red 12 is offside say stood on his own 22 and moving froward to prevent a QTI.
Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line.
1. 5m in the field of play from where the ball was originally kicked.
2. 15m in from the 10 m line where the lineout should be.
3. 15m in, 10 m advanced from the 10 m line. ie defensive offside line.
4. at least 15m in from 22
5. anything else you can think of:ROFLMAO:
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,421
Post Likes
598
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Did that ref specifically say the player was offside because of the QTI, or was he penalised based on his position and movement while the ball was still in flight and in play (i.e. before the ball crossed the plane of touch)?
He was offside because his offside position prevented / deterred the QTI.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,729
Post Likes
2,245
ok.
Accepting that red 12 is offside say stood on his own 22 and moving froward to prevent a QTI.
Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line.
1. 5m in the field of play from where the ball was originally kicked.
2. 15m in from the 10 m line where the lineout should be.
3. 15m in, 10 m advanced from the 10 m line. ie defensive offside line.
4. at least 15m in from 22
5. anything else you can think of:ROFLMAO:
good one !

The PK offence comes when he actually interferes in play .... by defending the QTI when they attempt it, so I think the PK is where he is standing when he does that.

(the merely 'moving forward' bit I think is cancelled when the ball goes into touch)
(and no scrum-back option as the ball went 'dead' between the kick and the offence)
 

Pinky


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
1,517
Post Likes
187
ok.
Accepting that red 12 is offside say stood on his own 22 and moving froward to prevent a QTI.
Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line.
1. 5m in the field of play from where the ball was originally kicked.
2. 15m in from the 10 m line where the lineout should be.
3. 15m in, 10 m advanced from the 10 m line. ie defensive offside line.
4. at least 15m in from 22
5. anything else you can think of:ROFLMAO:
For me the penalisable offence is offside and it is penalisable as the red 12 is moving forward. So the PK should be in line with where the red 12 was adjudged to have been offside and 15m in from touch.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,413
Post Likes
1,659
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
ok.
Accepting that red 12 is offside say stood on his own 22 and moving froward to prevent a QTI.
Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line.
1. 5m in the field of play from where the ball was originally kicked.
2. 15m in from the 10 m line where the lineout should be.
3. 15m in, 10 m advanced from the 10 m line. ie defensive offside line.
4. at least 15m in from 22
5. anything else you can think of:ROFLMAO:
6. penalty wherever Red #12 was when the ball was kicked (even if 1 inch from touchline) or scrum option where the ball was kicked
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,729
Post Likes
2,245
Red kick, and Red #12 (in front of the kicker) runs forward at pace
The ball goes into touch and is caught by a spectator.

Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line?



(there isn't a PK, of course, but that fact helps us to answer ctrainors post #44)
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
122
Post Likes
39
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 15 - 11
ok.
Accepting that red 12 is offside say stood on his own 22 and moving froward to prevent a QTI.
Where is the resultant penalty if the ball went out on the 10m line.
1. 5m in the field of play from where the ball was originally kicked.
2. 15m in from the 10 m line where the lineout should be.
3. 15m in, 10 m advanced from the 10 m line. ie defensive offside line.
4. at least 15m in from 22
5. anything else you can think of:ROFLMAO:
6. penalty wherever Red #12 was when the ball was kicked (even if 1 inch from touchline) or scrum option where the ball was kicked

… and maybe this is why refs try to avoid calling a PK - as we haven’t got a clue what to do next? ;-)
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,484
Post Likes
1,786
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
A Penalty kick is awarded at the place of the infringement unless stated otherwise.

It's not rocket science.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,729
Post Likes
2,245
A Penalty kick is awarded at the place of the infringement unless stated otherwise.

It's not rocket science.
for offside, the Q is whether the infringement is where they first start to move forward .. or where they interfere with play?
 

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
for offside, the Q is whether the infringement is where they first start to move forward .. or where they interfere with play?

Where they interfere with play, as being offside isn't an offence in itself. But taking part in the game while being offside is. "A player is offside in open play if that player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball or who last played it. An offside player must not interfere with play." Interfering with play while offside is the offence. Otherwise we could blow for offsides all day long.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,413
Post Likes
1,659
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
for offside, the Q is whether the infringement is where they first start to move forward .. or where they interfere with play?
they're one and the same. By moving forward Red #12 is taking up time & space aka interfering with play
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,484
Post Likes
1,786
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
for offside, the Q is whether the infringement is where they first start to move forward .. or where they interfere with play?

If there is a kick forward in open play, and a player in front of the kicker moves forward, where would you give the penalty?
It's no different.

We usually give a penalty in the most advantageous position to the none offending team. So that would be where he starts moving forward.
 
Top