Playing the ball on the ground

breako


Referees in Ireland
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
310
Post Likes
2
Diving on a loose ball is ok. But if a player goes to ground and doesn't fall on the ball but instead falls beside it and then he reaches out 3 seconds later, that is playing the ball on the ground, right? how do we differentiate between ok and not ok?
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,196
Post Likes
322
Question 1 - yes.
Question 2 - up to the referee to assess the situation and be consistent.
 

tim White


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
1,868
Post Likes
113
"Going to ground to gather the ball" is OK -tends to be one flowing movement. Reaching out after 3 seconds is completely different; You KNOW IT when you see it. I am visualising a wagging finger at this point.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,806
Post Likes
1,218
... but as oft discussed here, you'll be watching TV rugby and in one game a player will be pinged for it, and in the next game an hour later in very suimilar circumstances ... they wont.

so you takes your pick basically.
 
Top