Q 299

tim White


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
1,872
Post Likes
114
Should the answer be 'D', where the ball crossed the touchline as this is nearer the players goal line and the ball went slightly backwards?
 

Robert Burns

, Referees in Canada, RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
Staff member
Joined
Nov 10, 2003
Messages
9,650
Post Likes
7
You need to tell us what the question was and possibly all the other answer options.
 

Account Deleted

Facebook Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
4,089
Post Likes
1
Here is the question with the answer as given.


Question Reference Number: 299
Blue #14 is just outside of their 22 and kicks. Gold #7 touches the ball and it deflects slightly behind Gold #7 and directly into touch at Gold's 10-meter line. What do you do?

The correct answer is: C.

19.1d : When a player anywhere in the playing area kicks the ball so that it touches or is touched by an opposition player and goes directly into touch, the throw-in is taken in-line with where the opposition player touched the ball or where the ball crossed the touch-line, if that is nearer the opposition player's goal-line.

A. Award a line-out to Gold opposite the place where Gold #7 touched the ball.
B. Award a line-out to Gold where the ball went into touch.
C. Award a line-out to Blue opposite the place Gold #7 touched the ball.
D. Award a line-out to Blue where the ball went into touch.
 

Mike Whittaker


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
1,778
Post Likes
2
The correct answer is surely 'D' ?? (unless of course Gold #7 had his back to the opposition so that 'behind him' actually meant forward on the pitch... which all goes to show how careful one has to be with words :confused: )
 

OB..


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
22,963
Post Likes
1,823
The ambiguity could be avoided if Gold #7's location was given.
 

Mike Whittaker


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
1,778
Post Likes
2
OB.. said:
The ambiguity could be avoided if Gold #7's location was given.


... and goodness only knows in which direction it was kicked. Very badly worded question!!
 

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,731
Post Likes
3
the normal assumptions would be that Gold 7 was facing play and that therefore behind him means closer to Gold's goal line.

Which means thatb D is correct - not C. as Tim suggested originally.

But I agree a more tightly drafted question gets rid of assumptions and aids clarity.
 

Mike Whittaker


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
1,778
Post Likes
2
Of course if they are both running very fast at the time of the incident maybe there is a momentum interpretation... :p
 

Simon Griffiths


Referees in England
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,914
Post Likes
0
:D Let's not go anywhere near momentum again...

I'll have a look, I can't be bothered to work out the question at the moment. So expect a proper response tomorrow...
 
Top