Quick Unseen Tap

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,851
Post Likes
1,235
wrt ball hitting ref for advantage... on the basis that in the OP it was believed the ball was dead... what advantage had accrued?

if the subsequent tap and play had then been 30 phases of play before scoring would the ball having touched the ref been "advantageous" ?

didds
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,473
Post Likes
1,682
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
wrt ball hitting ref for advantage... on the basis that in the OP it was believed the ball was dead... what advantage had accrued?

the advantage is that, but for the referee's body, the QT wouldn't have been taken as quickly
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,851
Post Likes
1,235
but that is still on a situational basis. if the play had taken 27 recycles before sccoring, was the ref an advantage anyway?
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,473
Post Likes
1,682
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
but that is still on a situational basis. if the play had taken 27 recycles before sccoring, was the ref an advantage anyway?

I don't understand your point. I am saying that, if my presence gave 1 team or the other an advantage when taking a QT, I would not allow the QT.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,851
Post Likes
1,235
and my point is... how do you know if you have given them an advantage?

didds
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,473
Post Likes
1,682
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
and my point is... how do you know if you have given them an advantage?

didds

I will judge where the ball ends up vs. where I think it would have ended up if it hadn't struck me.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
10,851
Post Likes
1,235
right.... so... just to confirm...

red are awarded a PK.
the ball is thrown towards the mark where the SH waits.
en route the ball touches you and deflects a little to the SH who taps...

... and red get awarded a scrum?

ie, because of the totally accidental intervention of the ref, red actually get a scrum and lose the PK?

didds
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,473
Post Likes
1,682
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
right.... so... just to confirm...

red are awarded a PK.
the ball is thrown towards the mark where the SH waits.
en route the ball touches you and deflects a little to the SH who taps...

... and red get awarded a scrum?

ie, because of the totally accidental intervention of the ref, red actually get a scrum and lose the PK?

didds

No, no, no. Red still get the penalty. They are asked to hold up a moment due to referee contact. Sorry if I wasn't clear.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,840
Post Likes
2,283
the more difficult one is that : you give a PK and the #9 takes an immediate quick tap and sidesteps left to go round you at exactly the moment you hop to the right to get out of his way ... and you collide.
Does he get to take the PK again? or is that a scrum.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13,473
Post Likes
1,682
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
the more difficult one is that : you give a PK and the #9 takes an immediate quick tap and sidesteps left to go round you at exactly the moment you hop to the right to get out of his way ... and you collide.
Does he get to take the PK again? or is that a scrum.

No PK again.

If he bounces off you and continues on his merry way, then play on. No-one is disadvantaged.

If he trips over your size 11 gumboots and gets mullered by opposition, scrum to him.
 
Top