ruck in goal

Rich_NL

Rugby Expert
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,627
Post Likes
505
Touching the ball down if it gets placed back into in-goal and the ruck ends is smart attacking play, you see the try given every time it happens on TV, there's no immediate danger (unless someone does a flying belly-flop onto the defending players, which is dangerous play anyway) and youre not preventing an unplayable snarl-up of bodies by stopping people dropping over the ball... and what Dickie says.

I'd give the try, rather than the defence a clearing penalty for not knowing the ruck laws.
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,154
Post Likes
1,843
the scenario I had was what would have been a ruck in the field of play but the defending side was in goal. Attacker dived in to the defending side of what was would have been a ruck in the field of play. Fair play to have attackers diving in ? I have had this on 2 occasions and given a 5 metre penalty to defending side but not sure this is right as there is no ruck and anyone can do what they like, including diving on the ball ?
where was the ball? that's the pertinent point.
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
in the "non ruck" which looked like a ruck on the defending side with attacking player diving in.
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
in the "non ruck" which looked like a ruck on the defending side with attacking player diving in.
looked like a ruck but wasn't a ruck because the ball was in goal. Attackers have the opportunity to dive in amongst the legs?
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
looked like a ruck but wasn't a ruck because the ball was in goal. Attackers have the opportunity to dive in amongst the legs?
I am getting the general consensus that it is fair play for attackers to dive in
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
if the ball is in-goal, then I think convention would be that's OK for any player to dive on it, even if it is within, or just emerging from / emerged from / near to an ex-ruck
 

Mipper


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
198
Post Likes
86
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
now I have said that someone will disagree !
Not me. In this instance it is absolutely legal for an attacker to dive in and touch the ball down for a try.

if anyone can be bothered to look it up, this happened in a prem game last year. Bristol had a scrum half crisis and were playing some lad as about 6th choice, he pulled the ball back with his feet from a ruck, in order to kick, but pulled it back over the try line and just watched as one of the oppo (may have been Northampton) just dived on it.

I remember thinking; how can he have played at that level and not know that particular law.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
I remember thinking; how can he have played at that level and not know that particular law.
but there is no particular Law that allows a player to do that

whereas there is a particular Law that makes it illegal 15.16.d (which I consider we need to ignore)

So I have some sympathy
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
Thank you chaps. Let's conclude that it is fine for attackers to drop on the ball in the defending side of a "what looks like a ruck but it isn't a ruck because the ball is in goal"
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
always good to have some finality on these threads !
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
Thank you chaps. Let's conclude that it is fine for attackers to drop on the ball in the defending side of a "what looks like a ruck but it isn't a ruck because the ball is in goal"
Yes, but that kinda misses the point

I would say that despite 15.16.d , by convention it's ok to fall on a ball that has just emerged from a ruck if the ball is in goal
 

blobs


Referees in England
Joined
Dec 4, 2022
Messages
10
Post Likes
2
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
Yes, but that kinda misses the point

I would say that despite 15.16.d , by convention it's ok to fall on a ball that has just emerged from a ruck if the ball is in goal
yes, but you miss the point, we end up at the same place !
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,222
Post Likes
2,218
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Yes, but that kinda misses the point

I would say that despite 15.16.d , by convention it's ok to fall on a ball that has just emerged from a ruck if the ball is in goal
15.16.d has been worded somewhat lazily (who would have thought?). The intent of 15.16.d is to stop players killing the ball near the ruck. Scoring a try is not killing the ball (I suppose the ball does end up dead but you know what I mean) :)
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
15.16.d has been worded somewhat lazily (who would have thought?). The intent of 15.16.d is to stop players killing the ball near the ruck. Scoring a try is not killing the ball (I suppose the ball does end up dead but you know what I mean) :)
What about a defender diving on it ?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
yes, but you miss the point, we end up at the same place !
Yes but better to directly address the Law that prohibits what you want to allow
 
Last edited:

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,154
Post Likes
1,843
admittedly a long time ago in very coarse rugby terms (university rugby digs league) , our hooker was awarded a try when at a 5m scrum (5m from oppo line) they hooked, we drove and the ball under the second rows' feet ended over the line - our hooker unbound and dived on the ball, through the middle of the "scrum" to score - awarded.
 

menace


Referees in Australia
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
3,657
Post Likes
633
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
but there is no particular Law that allows a player to do that

whereas there is a particular Law that makes it illegal 15.16.d (which I consider we need to ignore)

So I have some sympathy
Curious. You seem to advocate ignoring a law in certain situations which appears to be at odds to your opinion/
thinking in the thread 'Tackle/release inches from the try line".

Someone will soon roll out "apply it as if you were mid field".
 
Top