ruck/maul offside??

vidiego

Referees in America
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Hi, I hope everybody is ok! I recently became a referee and I have trouble with the interpretation of some laws…I hope somebody can assist me and understand me- English is my second language and I am still learning it. Here is the scenario:

Black vs White: Ball on the ground, ruck formed...blacks won the ball, the scrum half took the ball (the ruck is over because the ball is out of the ruck) and a white player (which was part of the ruck) came through the middle of the ex-ruck and tackled the SH. I said: “play on” because I considered the ruck over, but later I thought “maybe I was wrong, maybe the player was off-side”…I really don’t know the correct answer but my common sense tells me that the player wasn’t offside because the ruck was over.

I guess it is the same principle for a maul, right?

What do you all think about this?

And what happens if the scrum half is carrying the ball and runs near to the maul/ruck and an opposite player who is part of the maul/ruck and is on his feet tackles or holds him? Is this legal as well?

OB..

Referees in England
Staff member
Post Likes
Hi, I hope everybody is ok! I recently became a referee and I have trouble with the interpretation of some laws…I hope somebody can assist me and understand me- English is my second language and I am still learning it.
A warm welcome - and don't worry about your English. It is well up to the standard of this website. :biggrin:
I said: “play on” because I considered the ruck over
As you describe it, the ruck was indeed over, and provided the player was not offside before then, it is play on.

And what happens if the scrum half is carrying the ball and runs near to the maul/ruck [...]
There cannot be a maul/ruck any longer because the scrum half has the ball in open play.

damo

Referees in New Zealand
Post Likes