[Law] Sco v Eng - Scrum back?

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,567
Post Likes
1,848
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
In practice they always catch it ..which means you always give options ?

Not necessarily.


The law differentiates between the ball must reach the 5m before being played; and the ball being blocked.

One is timing, the other is deliberate.

Players know full well the ball must go 5m, but they are jumping around on the line of touch and inadvertently grab the ball before its gone 5m. This is not usually a conscious decision. Hence options.

The ball being blocked is a deliberate act, usually stopping a QTI.


We have debated this on here lots of times. The consensus as I recall is as I have outlined above.

To be honest i'm not fussed what you do as long as you sell it and are consistent.
 

Treadmore

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
405
Post Likes
36
Was that for a lineout or a QTI ?

Lineout

I know we shouldn't use old Law books :) but the new Laws seem consistent in a "simplified" way on this point.

Any player starting in legal position who plays the ball before it reaches 5m = options to other team

An opponent stood in the wrong place and blocking = FK
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,074
Post Likes
2,367
Lineout

I know we shouldn't use old Law books :) but the new Laws seem consistent in a "simplified" way on this point.

Any player starting in legal position who plays the ball before it reaches 5m = options to other team

An opponent stood in the wrong place and blocking = FK

I love the wildly different interpretations people come up with

Options or FK

For Phil it's based on was it caught or slapped
For Treadmore it's the timing of when he crossed the line
For me it's which team he is from

Who is to say who is right ? Perhaps it's a good one for Laws at RFU . Com
 

Treadmore

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
405
Post Likes
36
^nope, not timing per se. My view is blocking happens before the lineout begins (the ball is thrown).

I'd happily accept any clarification of course :)
 

CrouchTPEngage


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
496
Post Likes
54
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I love the wildly different interpretations people come up with

Options or FK

For Phil it's based on was it caught or slapped
For Treadmore it's the timing of when he crossed the line
For me it's which team he is from

Who is to say who is right ? Perhaps it's a good one for Laws at RFU . Com

Surely it's always options. Any free kick can be chosen to be taken as a scrum right ? If so, then it's an easy to remember.
Laws say that a deliberate blocking is a PK. But Accidental encroachment into the 5m is a Free Kick. (With implicit option for a scrum as per any FK)
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20,074
Post Likes
2,367
Surely it's always options. Any free kick can be chosen to be taken as a scrum right ? If so, then it's an easy to remember.
Laws say that a deliberate blocking is a PK. But Accidental encroachment into the 5m is a Free Kick. (With implicit option for a scrum as per any FK)

Law references ?
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
15,567
Post Likes
1,848
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I love the wildly different interpretations people come up with

For Phil it's based on was it caught or slapped

NO, yet again you are putting words in other peoples mouths.
I gave some examples to illustrate a point, it wasn't finite.
 
Top