Sneaky QTI

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
Anybody else notice this nicely sneaky QTI "move" last saturday by the MAB?

They did it twice (not sure when the other instance is) so I do think its pre-planned, or at least pre-considered.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqNGshZBhJg&feature=youtu.be&t=2860

MAB catches ball in touch, vaguely suggests a QTI then drops the ball to the floor... and as the BIL switch off and don't mark the possible recipients of a QTI, returns to the ball for a QTI.

Smart play. Good thinking.


didds
 

Jolly Roger


Referees in Scotland
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
210
Post Likes
66
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
Very interesting. Thanks for pointing that out.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,161
I noticed it as well.
One thing I like about NZ rugby is that they are not afraid to try little tricks like that.

I also noticed the MAB changing direction on the restart at the last minute

And what about this amusing lineout move (which didn't actually work)
https://youtu.be/zqNGshZBhJg?t=3190
 

ChuckieB

Rugby Expert
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
1,057
Post Likes
115
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I switched off and called out for an ineligible QTI, thinking the player had set it down for another player without realising it was the same player who then picked it up.

Mitigating circumstances. The camera view was from the other side of the pitch so a long way away!
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
TBH I'm not sure what the lineout move was about unless it was an attempt for a simple throw to #7 .

It didn't seem to have an override because #7 was too closely marked. Maybe it was just a crap throw to a pod!

didds
 

Rich_NL

Rugby Expert
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,627
Post Likes
505
I thought the QTI was off in the example shown, as there there were several opposition players who'd approached the line of touch. At what point is it off?

Also, unusual subforum to choose for this, didds
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
I guess its off when a lineout is formed, beign two players from each side on the LoT etc.

There are just about two red players on the LoT (even that is debatable). Possibly #7 MAB but even he is a way off... all the other black players are still approaching from the other side of the red players in situ, or they are the awaiting back line.

View attachment 3562

didds
 

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
I thought the QTI was off in the example shown, as there there were several opposition players who'd approached the line of touch. At what point is it off?

Also, unusual subforum to choose for this, didds

I didnt know what subforum to put it in as there isn't one for QTI?

Mods - feel free to place it somewhere more appropriate.

didds

- - - Updated - - -

kit forum? How TF did it end up in the kit forum?

dunno then!

didds
 

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,815
Post Likes
1,009
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
And what about this amusing lineout move (which didn't actually work)
https://youtu.be/zqNGshZBhJg?t=3190

c.13 seconds to throw the ball in!! Maybe longer - the ball's in the hookers hands when the camera cuts to the LO. It wouldn't have worked if I was refereeing either - we'd be having a FK before that.
 
Last edited:

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
opretty much also what I thought LLP

didds
 

VM75

Player or Coach
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
442
Post Likes
92
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
In theory A QTI can be taken at any time before the lineout is formed, but each referee will unilaterally decide when there is a time expiry on quickness

Well done NZM & learn from it BIL.

It's merely a lack of concentration of the defenders similar to this famous moment. https://youtu.be/M9qZ13zPuEs?t=762
 

Ian_Cook


Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
13,687
Post Likes
1,773
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
In theory A QTI can be taken at any time before the lineout is formed, but each referee will unilaterally decide when there is a time expiry on quickness

... and to hell with Law 19.2 (c) and 19.8 (a)?

The QTI would be off because YOU say so, even if there were no thrower teammates at the LoT?
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,225
Post Likes
2,219
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
... and to hell with Law 19.2 (c) and 19.8 (a)?

The QTI would be off because YOU say so, even if there were no thrower teammates at the LoT?

If the thrower's team declines to put players onto LoT indefinitely I guess at some stage the ref has to do something
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,225
Post Likes
2,219
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
... and to hell with Law 19.2 (c) and 19.8 (a)?

The QTI would be off because YOU say so, even if there were no thrower teammates at the LoT?

If the thrower's team declines to put players onto LoT indefinitely I guess at some stage the ref has to do something
 

Ian_Cook


Referees in New Zealand
Staff member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
13,687
Post Likes
1,773
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
If the thrower's team declines to put players onto LoT indefinitely I guess at some stage the ref has to do something

There are Laws to cover that scenario

[LAWS]19.8 (d) When the ball is in touch, every player who approaches the line of touch is presumed to do so to form a lineout. Players who approach the line of touch must do so without delay. Players of either team must not leave the lineout once they have taken up a position in the lineout until the lineout has ended.
Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line

19.8 (g) Failure to form a lineout. A team must not voluntarily fail to form a lineout.
Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line[/LAWS]
 
Last edited:

ChuckieB

Rugby Expert
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
1,057
Post Likes
115
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
There are Laws to cover that scenario

[LAWS]19.8 (d) When the ball is in touch, every player who approaches the line of touch is presumed to do so to form a lineout. Players who approach the line of touch must do so without delay. Players of either team must not leave the lineout once they have taken up a position in the lineout until the lineout has ended.
Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line

19.8 (g) Failure to form a lineout. A team must not voluntarily fail to form a lineout.
Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line[/LAWS]

So, out interest, when did this "without delay" non-observance on the part of the throwing team creep into the game?
 

VM75

Player or Coach
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
442
Post Likes
92
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
If the thrower's team declines to put players onto LoT indefinitely I guess at some stage the ref has to do something

Thanks DickieE You beat me to it, by definition a QTI requires it to be reasonably 'Q' , which although isn't covered in LoTG, it is defined as this in common usage

quick
adjective

  • 1. moving fast or doing something in a short time.

I'm certainly not allowing the Throwers team to walk very very very super slowly, under the guise/protection that they aren't failing 19.8(g) , IMHO the QTI was supposed to speed up the game, not slow it down !

If others take a contrary view then that's their prerogative - when they've got the whistle.
 
Top