so as to be in a position to receive the ball

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,690
Post Likes
2,235
So here's another one similar to the Scotland try -- but taken somewhat further (it's the second video, here, can't seem to link direct to it)



There are (I reckon) 5 players who are not in line, but rather milling about ready to join the maul.

Have they all left the lineout so as to be in a position to receive the ball (which is not going to be thrown to them) ?
 

Shelflife


Referees in Ireland
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
616
Post Likes
144
Yes , they have left the lineout and should retreat 10m .

They are allowed to change positions within the lineout but not leave and come back in again.

It gives them a huge advantage in the maul set up.
 
Top