"The law says team going forward, not team in possession."

didds

Resident Club Coach
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,164
Post Likes
1,846
From
and not wanting to derail that thread...

This is also a angels on pinheads query so please dont take it too seriously :)

From that scenario in the above thread, with "rugby incident play on" the call, but the ref blows up to get urgent medical attention on the field ie no fault stoppage...

WRT "The law says team going forward, not team in possession."
If when the whistle is blown, the ball has been passed backwards from the point of collision and is in mid air before being caught, let alone being caught and then starting to run forwards, is any team

* in possession
* going forward?
Alternatively a player picks up the ball but is actually running backwards (looping back and around etc ) when the whistle is blown... they aren't going forward so do the oppo get the scrum feed?


cheers :)

didds
 

jdeagro


Referees in America
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
367
Post Likes
72
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
...is any team

* in possession
I'd say no.

* going forward?
Arguably the team that kicked off in the scenario I described, I'd say.

And if you're saying the receiving team last played it and tapped it backwards first before the time off, I'd still say the kicking team regardless of who last played it, because that's the direction the ball is going, forward relative to the kicking team and furthermore the kicking team is advancing themselves.
Alternatively a player picks up the ball but is actually running backwards (looping back and around etc ) when the whistle is blown... they aren't going forward so do the oppo get the scrum feed?


cheers :)

didds
In another thread a few months ago, I asked a similar question in regards to a ruck, what happens if the team in possession of the ball is driven backwards but maintains possession. I think it was generally accepted that the team moving forward was the team not in possession of the ball. Same if the team in possession of the ball keeps passing, running backwards, getting tackled / driven backwards, etc, and then the next ruck becomes unplayable. The team moving forward, is again the one not in possession of the ball in these scenarios because they're advancing forward.
 
Last edited:

SimonSmith


Referees in Australia
Staff member
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
9,408
Post Likes
1,525
From
and not wanting to derail that thread...

This is also a angels on pinheads query so please dont take it too seriously :)

From that scenario in the above thread, with "rugby incident play on" the call, but the ref blows up to get urgent medical attention on the field ie no fault stoppage...

WRT "The law says team going forward, not team in possession."
If when the whistle is blown, the ball has been passed backwards from the point of collision and is in mid air before being caught, let alone being caught and then starting to run forwards, is any team

* in possession
* going forward?
Alternatively a player picks up the ball but is actually running backwards (looping back and around etc ) when the whistle is blown... they aren't going forward so do the oppo get the scrum feed?


cheers :)

didds
I dub thee Chopper.
 

Locke


Referees in America
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Messages
248
Post Likes
150
Current Referee grade:
Level 10
I think the premise of the question may be incorrect.

The table in law 19.1 says a scrum restart for “stoppage due to injury” is given to “the team last in possession”.

The scrum goes to “the team last moving forward” in these circumstances:
- an unplayable tackle or ruck
- a maul that ends unsuccessfully, only if the referee cannot determine which team had possession when the maul began
- the referee awards a scrum for any other reason not covered in law
 

Volun-selected


Referees in America
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
596
Post Likes
355
Location
United States
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I think the premise of the question may be incorrect.

The table in law 19.1 says a scrum restart for “stoppage due to injury” is given to “the team last in possession”.

The scrum goes to “the team last moving forward” in these circumstances:
- an unplayable tackle or ruck
- a maul that ends unsuccessfully, only if the referee cannot determine which team had possession when the maul began
- the referee awards a scrum for any other reason not covered in law
So if Possession is controlling or attempting to control the ball, can we use that combined with whoever played the ball last?

If neither jumping player has touched the ball, and I blow the whistle before anyone else touches the ball then team last in possession is kicking team.

If either jumping player gets a hand to the ball and I blow the whistle, they have played the ball - either they accidentally knock on and concede a scrum, or palm it back and get the scrum.

Either the jumpers miss, or successful palm back and another player touches the ball after the clash of heads but before I blow the whistle, they are now the team in possession and get the scrum for successfully playing the ball, or concede a scrum for a knock on.
 
Top