The Receiver in a lineout doesn't join maul

breako


Referees in Ireland
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
310
Post Likes
2
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; it static.
The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static.

The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,822
Post Likes
2,276
[LAWS]
18.32
When a ruck or maul forms at the mark of touch, a participating player may either:
Join the ruck or maul; or
Retire to the offside line, which is the hindmost foot of that player’s team in the ruck or maul[/LAWS]
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,939
Post Likes
378
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static. The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?
What I think you're getting confused over is whether the LO is over.

If it isn't, then normal LO offside lines apply until it is over. The SH doesn't have to join a Maul.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
19,822
Post Likes
2,276
Well, no, once the maul forms the lineout is still going on, but some new offside lines form .. for the lineoit participants who are not part of the maul , it's now the back foot
 

chbg


Referees in England
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,314
Solutions
1
Post Likes
306
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
Likewise not all the 'forwards' have to join the maul - they can just wait to see what happens, from behind the backfoot.
 

Marc Wakeham


Referees in Wales
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
2,442
Post Likes
611
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
Blue receiver does not have to join the maul.
 

ChrisR

Player or Coach
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3,229
Post Likes
354
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; it static.
The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static.

The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?

See law reference post #2. All "participating players" includes the receiver.

Only the thrower (and now in 2018 law) his opposite number have special rights to retire to the 10m. Left over from the days when wingers threw in the ball.
 
Top