Referees in Australia
- Jan 19, 2007
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Level 2
Whether or not you think the referee got this right or wrong will probably depend on your judgement of whether the kicker's step was him beginning the appraoch to kick.
IMO, the approach to kick needs to be a clear and obvious step to towards the ball, so in this referee's position, I would have allowed the kicker another attempt, with no charge.
I'm looking at this from a slightly different angle.
I agree that the sideways step wasn't an approach to kick and the defenders were in error to charge when they did.
However, the kicker maintained his position and the referee instructed the defenders to retire to the goal line (which they did). Presumably the kicker could have then recommenced his set up (which he chose not to do). So I'm going with the ref on this one.
Let me ask this as a hypothetical.
Kicker sets up and defenders charge early before kicker has approached to kick. Ref sends them back and tells them no charge. Kicker asks ref if he can set up again and ref agrees.
Kicker completes kick and it misses. Does he get another go? Law would suggest that he does.
Left over from the days of forming a divot for the ball -or a pile of sand, the ball could fall over -the chargers prevented the kick With the new fangled plastic trumpets the ball does not fall over.
Ahem, Tim, falls over more especially in windy Cumbria, You should know that:smile:.
Now then should we have the debate about allowing the "Trumpet bringer on" to hold the ball rather than a player which I know is technically the right thing to but just slows the game down:Nerv:
before long I think WR will make referees give a signal to show that the approach has commenced and they can charge.
like we do at lineouts to say the lineout is over and players can come up
I consider any movement by the kicker as the commencement of their approach. There is nothing in the law that says the approach must be forward. If the trigger move is a step back or sideways, then forward, to me they have commenced their approach and defenders are entitled to charge.
I consider any movement by the kicker as the commencement of their approach. There is nothing in the law that says the approach must be forward.
If the trigger move is a step back or sideways, then forward, to me they have commenced their approach and defenders are entitled to charge.