Referees in England
- Mar 10, 2020
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Level 15 - 11
In practice no.
The referee awards a scrum for any other reason not covered in law.
In the scrum zone at the point closest to the place of stoppage.
The team that was last moving forward or, if neither team was moving forward, the attacking team
But in practice yes.
If a player has caught the ball in his own 22 and is stationary when you blow to stop play, if you restart with a scrum, the other team are the attacking team (and the team that were last moving forward with possession).