Referees in America
- Jan 23, 2022
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Level 10
Start video at 5:00 to see Uruguay try called back for obstruction by #13 in the midfield.
I didn’t notice it in real time and, on replay, still feel it was harsh. #13 is initially behind the ball and clearly a realistic option to receive the pass. From my view, he maintains his running line and makes contact with the defender almost immediately after play goes behind him. However, he does seem to know it’s a potential concern because he puts his arms up to try to signal he’s not holding the defender back.
Thoughts on Ben O’Keefe’s decision vs my thought process here? On replay, I would not given the penalty for obstruction. Am I too far off the mark?