- Oct 17, 2011
- Post Likes
- Current Referee grade:
- Select Grade
As passing is not kicking - as soon as he is ahead of the last person on his side who played the ball, and he must retire.
But, applying that logic, a player who overtakes the kicker is himself offside, because the exception in 11.2(c) doesn't apply to him. he can put others onside, but is himself offside. The only way to prevent that is to accept that a player who was behind the last player on his own side to play the ball when the ball was played is and remains onside; and that also renders the recipient of the legal pass in question onside.