YC return

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
From my game today

Red 10 has been in the bin for 09:50s when Red score a try.

Can Red 10 come back on the pitch (after waiting 10s) and take the conversion?
 

ianh5979


Referees in England
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
470
Post Likes
60
not for me, he can come back on for the KO but not until conversion taken
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,544
Post Likes
358
Location
Durham
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
No, I would argue that only players on the pitch at the point the try is scored can take the conversion (same logic applies to substitutes after all)

Edit: Just realised that substitutes not kicking is an RFU Reg not a law, so that may make my theory hold less water, however I think not allowing them after a YC is within the same spirit
 
Last edited:

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,620
Post Likes
448
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
No, I would argue that only players on the pitch at the point the try is scored can take the conversion (same logic applies to substitutes after all)

Edit: Just realised that substitutes not kicking is an RFU Reg not a law, so that may make my theory hold less water, however I think not allowing them after a YC is within the same spirit

If you have allowed the player back on the pitch then they are back ie they can participate fully.
 

Dixpat

Avid Rugby Lover
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
315
Post Likes
44
Clearly if it happened in your game today you made a decision.

What law reference have you found to justify (or otherwise) that decision?
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
Clearly if it happened in your game today you made a decision.

What law reference have you found to justify (or otherwise) that decision?

Indeed
In my game I didn't let him take the kick
Reflecting now, I think I was wrong

(But I am comforted by the refs here with the same decision)

Decorily, I think you are saying : let him back on and let him take the kick
 

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,620
Post Likes
448
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
Indeed
In my game I didn't let him take the kick
Reflecting now, I think I was wrong

(But I am comforted by the refs here with the same decision)

Decorily, I think you are saying : let him back on and let him take the kick

I am saying IF you let him back on then he is entitled to take the kick or perform any action any other player is entitled to perform.
 

Dickie E


Referees in Australia
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
14,218
Post Likes
2,217
Current Referee grade:
Level 2
From my game today

Red 10 has been in the bin for 09:50s when Red score a try.

Can Red 10 come back on the pitch (after waiting 10s) and take the conversion?

I'd be OK with it.

But what if it had been 9:00 when try scored? Red 9 gets the tee, sets up the ball, etc then Red 10 trots back on to take the kick?
 
Last edited:

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,620
Post Likes
448
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
I'd be OK with it.

But what if it had been 9:00 when try scored? Red 9 gets the tee, sets up the ball, etc then Red 10 trots back on to take the kick?

That's a big EDIT!
Wish posters wouldn't do that but that's probably just me!
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
I am saying IF you let him back on then he is entitled to take the kick or perform any action any other player is entitled to perform.

Ok , but do you let him "back on"
 
Last edited:

Decorily

Coach/Referee
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
1,620
Post Likes
448
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
If the time has expired and I'm happy to let him back on then yes, I'm not going looking for reasons NOT to let him back.
 

beckett50


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
2,514
Post Likes
224
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
No.

He is in the bin when the try is scored. The Law allows 90 seconds from the scoring of the try to completion of the conversion. The clock is still running and so the ball is (technically) not dead.

He can only come back to the Field once the conversion has been taken.
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
No.

He is in the bin when the try is scored. The Law allows 90 seconds from the scoring of the try to completion of the conversion. The clock is still running and so the ball is (technically) not dead.

He can only come back to the Field once the conversion has been taken.

The clock is normally running when the ball is dead.
For instance at a scrum
Ball is dead
Clock is running
YC players can return and take part in the scrum
 

beckett50


Referees in England
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
2,514
Post Likes
224
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
The clock is normally running when the ball is dead.
For instance at a scrum
Ball is dead
Clock is running
YC players can return and take part in the scrum

Not if the mark for the scrum has been made by the time the YC time is up.

Scenario

Scrum set and collapses/requires a reset. YC time is up. Do you let the YC player back on to the FoP for the reset? i would suggest not, as you are still in the same phase of play (even though you may choose to 'time off' to talk with the FR about their scrum discipline)
 
Top