YC return

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,815
Post Likes
1,009
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
I happened in my game the other week.

YC (Black #10) was due to return. Black scored their first try and the call came in from side line.

I had let Black #10 back on and he ran to where #Black 9 was just in receipt of tee.

I wondered whether I should have allowed him to take the 2 pts kick as I vaguely recalled it as a rolling subs regulation that an "oncomer" couldn't take a kick - I assume that was to avoid an American Football specialist kicker roll on-roll off state of affairs.

Anyway I didn't compound the "error" (if it was one) by not allowing him to take the kick.

Probably should've just let him on after the conv. pre-restart. At the time it never dawned on me he was the regular kicker as he had not taken a kick up to that point. Other than wearing #10 there was nothing to suggest he was the regular kicker - all he'd done up to that point was knock on and commit a YC-able (high tackle).

Anyway you can only assimilate so much detail and I'm not too fussed if I did get it wrong - it may stop me refereeing at the next RWC but there you go. :biggrin:

If we reach a consensus I'll know next time. If we don't I may ask at the next Society meeting.
 

Flish


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
1,544
Post Likes
358
Location
Durham
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I think that's a very very different scenario.

Even so, if it was me then when the time was up I would let them on .

Not really, we're discussing whether the bin time is up when it's up, or when we chose it's up - I suggest in the weeds it's the latter, and that's just another example of why.

(In this case I had guidance before that suggests in terms of management if you can avoid bringing together two forwards intent on whacking each other then why not avoid it - you could argue their choices not yours, either or)
 

Balones

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
1,479
Post Likes
525
Yes and even at my lowly level I know perfectly well that I can get away with either decision ... But I would like to know what is the correct decision .. as that's the one I will give , if I can.

Sorry, got carried away with writing what I did and forgot to address the question.
When I have raised very similar questions in relation to exactly when a YC can return both in terms of exact timing and situation the response from ‘on high’ has always been “it is a refereeing decision”. Which doesn’t really answer your question does it!
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
Not really, we're discussing whether the bin time is up when it's up, or when we chose it's up - I suggest in the weeds it's the latter, and that's just another example of why.

(In this case I had guidance before that suggests in terms of management if you can avoid bringing together two forwards intent on whacking each other then why not avoid it - you could argue their choices not yours, either or)

One is u17 the other is adult
One had a player from both teams in bin, so your decision won't disadvantage one team and advantage the other , as was the case in mine
Your YC was about niggles and escalation, mine wasn't
In yours the time was definitely up and they were definitely entitled to come , in mine that is the question .. was it up or not? Was he entitled or not ?

So yes, different scenarios
 
Last edited:

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
I happened in my game the other week.

YC (Black #10) was due to return. Black scored their first try and the call came in from side line.

I had let Black #10 back on and he ran to where #Black 9 was just in receipt of tee.

I wondered whether I should have allowed him to take the 2 pts kick as I vaguely recalled it as a rolling subs regulation that an "oncomer" couldn't take a kick - I assume that was to avoid an American Football specialist kicker roll on-roll off state of affairs.

Anyway I didn't compound the "error" (if it was one) by not allowing him to take the kick.

Probably should've just let him on after the conv. pre-restart. At the time it never dawned on me he was the regular kicker as he had not taken a kick up to that point. Other than wearing #10 there was nothing to suggest he was the regular kicker - all he'd done up to that point was knock on and commit a YC-able (high tackle).

Anyway you can only assimilate so much detail and I'm not too fussed if I did get it wrong - it may stop me refereeing at the next RWC but there you go. :biggrin:

If we reach a consensus I'll know next time. If we don't I may ask at the next Society meeting.

I think you were definitely right, as in this case YC had alreadt expired when the try was scored

In my case it still had a little time to run, so more questionable
 

crossref


Referees in England
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
21,824
Post Likes
3,159
BTW I am not raising it as a massive on field issue. Far from it, I made a quick call (can't take the kick) and we all moved on

I raise it as a curiosity as I would be interested to know what the correct call is
 
Top