Just wanted to pick your brain on the thread I started. It seems to have become an opinion poll rather than a place where I can get the facts. No bother on that because a forum is a discussion.
I'm 2nd season in as reffing and of course I am making mistakes but I like to think that in points of law I don't make the same mistake twice.
What is the actual law on a team that have taken the ball into the ingoal but then knock on? Should it also be a 5m scrum?
I am happy that with the scenario I mentioned I would now give a 5m scrum. But your question for me questioning myself.
I struggle a great deal with dyslexia. Wading through the law book (especially when it is.not written in plain English a lot of the time) proves to be difficult. I tend to learn by 'doing' and through chatting with other reffs better than through reading.
As the saying goes, better late than never. Just noticed you left me a message (just short of a year ago) in regards to what society I referee for. I'm part of the "Rugby Referee Society of NY" aka RRSNY which is a society in the USA.
We all sometimes get a bit het up about things, sometimes we've had a bad day at work, other times we have had something happen in our lives that we don't want to discuss but affects how we communicate, and other times we are just very passionate about what we write about.
Ian is certainly very passionate about his rugby, I shall have a word, but you should not let a few doubtful posts get the better of your enjoyment of the site.
Like yourself, Ian has been on here for quite a while, and like yourself has his fair share of very helpful contributions to the site, without which we would not be able to work.
Just tried to put the very rude Ian on ignore. But I find I can't as he is "admin". Without doubt the rudest poster on the site. Amazing. Well I'd rather not get drawn by his crap any more so I'm off. Thanks for your efforts.