Not competing and then sacking

RobLev

Rugby Expert
Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Select Grade
First a disclaimer. As a coach I agree with Ian that, in principal, a team should be free to apply any/all legal tactics to minimize an opponents strengths, including not forming the maul at a lineout. So the tactic described in the OP is a simple question of legality. Except, with a lineout, it's never simple.

Much of the problem stems from the lack of singular definitions. "Lineout" is both the event that restarts the match after the ball goes into touch and the lines of players each side of the line-of-touch. However, "Player participating in the lineout" include receivers, the thrower and his opposite.

But "Line-out player" is also defined - as "the players who form the two lines that make a lineout." So the line-out, collective noun, is the two lines of players waiting to receive the ball. The line-out, event, is what the participants in the line-out participate in, without necessarily being line-out players.

The fact that Law 19.8(a) requires that "At least two players from each team must form a lineout" is consistent with that interpretation - indeed enforces it (or else there would be no requirement to have anybody in the line itself),

With that in mind I'd say that the lineout area extends from 5m to 15m and 10m each side of the line-of-touch. Unfortunately the Laws don't reference "lineout area" so "leaving the lineout" is always going to be in debate.

I'd agree that the area within which the line-out (event) takes place is so bounded - but that is independent of what the line-out (collective noun) means.

Law 19.14(e) states that "No player ... participating in the lineout may leave the lineout until it has ended." Clearly, "lineout" here means the lineout area, not the line-of-touch or the original positions of the players. Therefore, stepping away from the LOT to avoid forming a maul does NOT constitute "leaving the lineout".