9 joining a maul at a lineout

Mini P

New member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
138
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
yep, legal. 9 can join line out after the ball is thrown provided he stays onside
 

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,815
Post Likes
1,009
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
The receiver joins the maul with no PK. It's the bloke running from 10m that sparks the PK. I assume it's because the "maul" hasn't moved through the LoT so the LO hasn't ended....etc.
 

Phil E


Referees in England
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
16,136
Post Likes
2,408
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
The receiver joins the maul with no PK. It's the bloke running from 10m that sparks the PK. I assume it's because the "maul" hasn't moved through the LoT so the LO hasn't ended....etc.

That's what I thought, but was confused by the referee shouting 9 back, 9 no.
I assume 9 wasn't the acting SH and was actually in the backs?
I can see why it was posted though, confusing.
 

Lee Lifeson-Peart


Referees in England
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
7,815
Post Likes
1,009
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
That's what I thought, but was confused by the referee shouting 9 back, 9 no.
I assume 9 wasn't the acting SH and was actually in the backs?
I can see why it was posted though, confusing.

I watched it with the sound off. Perhaps that's why I wasn't confused (for once).
 

damo


Referees in New Zealand
Joined
May 5, 2011
Messages
1,692
Post Likes
276
Yeah it was a bit confusing because the 9 is normally the receiver, who would be allowed to join. However in this case the 9 was back 10m with the backs and he ran in to join the maul before the lineout had ended.

Fair penalty, and pretty dumb from France not to heed the refs warning (perhaps they didn't understand him?)
 

Taff


Referees in Wales
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
6,942
Post Likes
383
The receiver joins the maul with no PK. It's the bloke running from 10m that sparks the PK. I assume it's because the "maul" hasn't moved through the LoT so the LO hasn't ended....etc.
Which would explain why the mark wasn't on the LoT.
 

TheBFG


Referees in England
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
4,392
Post Likes
237
Current Referee grade:
Level 6
think it's the #7 that joins (guy in a grey scrum cap)
 

Davet

Referee Advisor / Assessor
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
12,731
Post Likes
4
Ahh - I listened with the sound on on a rather grainy picture - and could not work out what the problem was.

Thanks, gents.
 

Mini P

New member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
138
Post Likes
0
Current Referee grade:
Level 8
I didn't even watch the video. Whoops.
 
Top