In Goal Question can you help??

nightrider56

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 9
I'm a new referee and I've got a law question that i just don't seem to be able to get my head around.Law 22.7 (a) states that when an attacking player sends or carries the ball into the opponents’ in-goal and it becomes dead there, either because a defender grounded it or because it went into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead ball line, a drop-out is awarded. I get that, but how is that different than Law 22.8
If a team kicks the ball through their opponents’ in-goal into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead ball line, except by an unsuccessful kick at goal or attempted dropped goal, the defending team has two choices:

• To have a drop-out, or
  • To have a scrum at the place where the ball was kicked and they throw in.
I see a difference between carrying the ball and kicking the ball, but what is the difference between 'sending' the ball and kicking the ball?
The video's on the IRB website don't make this clear can anyone help??
Many thanks
Vince

John3822

Active Referee
Post Likes
Hi I can think of at least two instances where the ball can be 'sent' into the in-goal by an attacking player. 1) charge down of defending sides kick. 2) Off the head of an attacking player, not a knock-on. I think it is probably better to look at 'send' covering every other option other carrying, and that 'kicking' is one facet of 'sent', but in that one instance the law-makers have decided on a different outcome., Hope that makes sense.

crossref

Referees in England
Post Likes
I guess the 'chopperesque' scenario is

Red defender in field of play kicks ball

Blue charges down the kick

Ball goes over the try line and all the way over the dbl without anyone else touching it

Do you give red the option of a 22 or scrum where blue charged down? Or simply give them a 22 on the grounds that options only apply to a kick, and it wasn't a kick

nightrider56

Post Likes
Current Referee grade:
Level 9