[Scrum] Non-Throwing Scrum half

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
I guess I've got 3 questions here.

I'm thinking back to the days where you could drive from the 5m line for a pushover try.

When everyone and their gran joined the scrum in order to get it over the line.
Question 1 - Is this still permitted?
Question 2 - if it is, can the non throwing team's back line also join in.
Question 3 - Can the non-throwing scrum half bind to a lock/back row and help try to push the scrum forward (from his perspective)?

Hope Q3 is clear enough in my meaning lol.
 

Camquin

Rugby Club Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
1,601
Post Likes
278
No - only eight in a scrum - apart from the scrum half everyone else must be 5m back.
So at a 5m scrum defenders cannot come into field of play - must stay in goal.
But once ithe ball is on or over the goal line it is not a scrum - but by then it is too late.
 

Arabcheif

Player or Coach
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
668
Post Likes
70
Current Referee grade:
Level 1
This is what I was expecting tbh. It looks right to coin phrase.
 
Top